Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

It Just DIED !!!!

harr1ldharr1ld Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Dodge
I have a 1990 Dodge Dakota with w 3.9 V-6. Coming
home from work yesterday at 55 mph it just shut
down. After waiting about 15 minutes, it started
back up amd I drove it home (approx. 3 miles). I
thought I might have got bad fuel as I had filled
up on my way to work. I replaced the fuel filter
and added some gas treatment. I started to work
the next day and only made it about 4 blocks and it
shut down again, will not start. I let it sit
until I got home from work, it started right up and
I drove it home. I let it sit in the driveway and
idle, after about 5 minutes it shut down, will not
restart until I let it sit. ANY ideas ?

Comments

• pjyoungpjyoung Member Posts: 885
    I'm no mechanic, but I had a similar thing happen to a 73 Plymouth. It something with the ignition wires. They replaced them and it ran fine. In my case the engine, lights, horn, radio, etc. quit. It would run fine until it got hot, then shut down. Hope that helps.
  • bobs5bobs5 Member Posts: 557
    http://www.batauto.com/Chrysler.html
    I would recommend that you check for any computer codes. This may lead you to the cause of the problem.

Could be almost anything from a bad sensor to a plugged catalyst converter.

On my 86 ply. rel. there was a bad cat. conv. which gave similar symptoms.

I had a ford ranger which would die in the winter time, it turned out to be a bad damper valve which lets the hot air get to the carburator. The carb was freezing up on me.

www.allpar.com has lots of useful information on chrysler stuff.

good luck
  • rea98drea98d Member Posts: 982