Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Wrangler Maintenance and Repair Questions (1997 - 2006)

Comments

• My Jeep has a 4cy 2.5 engine automatic w/4x4. However trying to get onto highway and gaining speed is a joke. It has 31" tires but I dont think that would cause it to drive so slow. Once I get it going it will max out at about 80mph on a fairly straight away or especially down a hill. But try to drive up an incline, it slows to about 55-60mph. Its embarrassing! If I can't find a good 4.0cyl. engine, I hear I can replace the 2.5 and install a Chevy 350 cause it will fit right in? Is this true? I guess I'll have to change the transmission as well. I was also told I could just change the gears. Would this give me that much more power? Im not a mechanic so I don;t know what the answer is. I just want to travel a bit with my wife and not have 39 cars tailgating me for driving too slow. Help!
  • erickplerickpl Posts: 2,735
    Do you have a 2.5 with auto? A manual is better, but it is still sluggish.

You can replace the engine easily enough - you have options, but consider that you will also be needing to replace the transmission. The trannys in the 2.5 won't handle a 4.0 or a V8 w/o serious mods or problems (they WON'T handle the torque).

You'll also be swapping engine harnesses and such, so just be aware it is more than just a simple engine swap. You will need to relocate engine mounts at a minimum.

I have a 2.5L and 33" tires. But I regeared to 4.88 (I have a manual). It's still no barn burner, but I can travel most highways decently. I downshift less than I did with the 4.10's and 30" tires, but I still have to do it. I just don't get in a hurry. If I need to go fast, I shouldn't be in my Jeep. I had a BMW 6 Series for the go-fast.