Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volkswagen EuroVan

Comments

• nypaulnypaul Posts: 35
    My wife amd I have been driving VW buses for over 20 years and just love the 1971 camper we have now. It's my wifes daily driver and our vacation home all rolled up into one. There is a sink with a 7 gallon potable water tank, an ice box, and cupboards and cabinets galore. Plus, it sleeps 3 adults and a small child. There are provisions for plugging into regular electic outlets if your campground has it or many folks fit the bus with a second "camping" battery. For sure it is the slowest thing on the hiway, but whether we're on vacation or just a weekend getaway we like to go slow. It does have enough get up and go for the around town driving that my wife uses it for.
    The down side is that being an old car it doesn't have all the creature comforts we are all so used to. You know, airconditioning, cruise control, hot and cold running water, a built in stove and on, and on, and on. Also, depending on the condition of these old cars, they can be a real maintenance nightmare. I've seen some that I wouldn't even drive around the block and others that are in better than showroom condition. And,it can be difficult to find a mechanic to work on these old aircooled VWs.
    Really it comes down to what you feel that you want or need to enjoy yourself. Take your time and investigate all your options.

Paul
  • zavfejzavfej Posts: 13