Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2010 Mitsubishi Outlander

Comments

• iluvmysephia1iluvmysephia1 Posts: 5,695
    edited July 2010
    aye ta keep 'em guessing! We little people have to do what we can to get an edge.

2008 Mitsubishi Lancer GTS

• fushigifushigi Posts: 1,235
    Well, actually I am a fairly safe driver. Not slow, but safe. I pay attention to what's going on around me - other cars and what I can see of their drivers, pedestrians, weather & road conditions, etc. - and adjust my driving accordingly. I also factor in my car's condition. If I'm in a car with so-so handling (adjusted for road & weather conditions) I won't push as much as if the car can take whatever I can throw at it.

I also understand that AWD helps you get going on snow covered roads but it doesn't do a darned thing to help you stop.
    edited July 2010
    I started to become a safe driver while just 16. I was driving my Dad's '66 VW Fastback 4-speed on a Friday night. My friend was with me and it started snowing in Edmonds-Lynnwood, WA. I pulled off the road into a furniture store parking lot.

I started squireling around on that lot and slipping and sliding, having a ball! I remember saying to my friend "Watch this!"

I shifted up in to 2nd real fast and picked up speed, moving the wheel around and sliding. We started heading to the edge of the lot. Snow covered the landscaping rocks and shrubbery already.

I made the fatal mistake of hitting the brakes and the result was not a good one.

BAM! Up we went into a large boulder and SLAM down on to the side of the boulder we stopped. End of the line, padre.

Our heads had bumps from hitting the roof and my wrist started bleeding pretty bad. The VW's horn ellipse had busted off in the crash and sliced open my wrist.