Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chrysler Town and Country EX/LX/LXi/Limited

Comments

• jwbcpajwbcpa Posts: 2
    I am experiencing the same problem. I am down to 14 mpg. My engine light has been on for 6 months now. My local mechanic says it is nothing to be concerned about...but this gas mileage is ridiculous. I was getting around 21-23 mpg. Is my only recourse to trade? Thanks.
  • ljoyeljoye Posts: 2
    2001 T&C LX, A/C hissing from under passenger side dash. Also passenger side vents are blowing cold air but driver sides are warm. Any suggestions?
  • Hi!
    Would like to get your opinion: I bought my '98 T & C Lxi five months ago from my boss (I had been driving it for the past three years as a nanny). Gave me a really good discount so I don't owe anything on it. However, have spent $$$$ in repairs in the first three months of ownership. The van had 97, +++ when I bought it so it could be normal wear and tear. Recently, on a family outing, the front rocker arms broke and we had replaced for around $179. The mechanic said, they don't know the condition of the back rocker arms but the valves definitely need to be replaced and that it would cost around $1500. Would it be worth it to just get a newer used car or brand new car or (gulp) put in another major repair and keep the van, hopefully, for another three years?
  • shiposhipo Posts: 9,152
    A broken rocker arm? Bad valves? Yeesh, it sounds like that poor thing has been rid hard and put away wet (over and over and over again) with little or no maintenance.

The truth of the matter is that the 3.3/3.8 liter engines (I assume yours has the 3.8) are very robust with some reaching well into the 300,000 mile range with just normal maintenance. That having been said, if yours has been abused (and if what your mechanic has told you is true, it has) I might be inclined to unload it.