Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mazda5 Power Steering Problems

herby1herby1 Posts: 3
Have a 08 Mazda5, 19k, power steering failed twice, currently at the Mazda Dealership for over 8 weeks and counting. Major back order on parts according to the dealership.

Wrote a letter to Mazda Canada regarding parts availability but got the ran around....

Anybody else having this issue????

Comments

• vg33e powervg33e power Posts: 314
    Please provide more details on failure. What happened? Which part is back-ordered? How it failed?
  • herby1herby1 Posts: 3
    According to the mechanic its the power steering pump. It will stop working intermittently.

When it happens all you can do is turn off the vechicle, wait for a few minutes then it works again.

In my case it stop while I'm on the Highway...
  • coolmazda5coolmazda5 Posts: 525
    I think (note I'm not an expert) the power steering pump is the same one as for the Mazda3 (2.3L S trim) so I wonder why it has to be back ordered if that car is so popular and this does not sound like a common problem. Just check here, the illustrations give you a good idea:

http://www.onlinemazdaparts.com
  • 5_more5_more Posts: 43
    I've also experienced loss of power steering in the way described, and was not too happy about it. However, I would not stop on the side of the road -- the car is still drivable enough to get out of the way.
  • 5_more5_more Posts: 43
    Based on postings from other forums, the steering problem is a known , and is shared by 3 owners.
    Interesting, I own 2 Mazda5s (06 and 08) and I'm familiar with their flaws by this point in time, yet this is one I haven't heard of. Knocking on wood then :D
  • m5indgm5indg Posts: 3