Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Subaru Impreza Outback Sport & TS

Comments

• damish003damish003 Posts: 303
    Only 14 mpg??? Sounds to me like something is clearly wrong. I'm a fairly conservative driver, who lets it fly sometimes. Mix of city/highway. I average about 25-26 most of the time. I've never been under 20 mpg. 20-21 is bad enough, 14 is horrible. I'd say get it to the dealer pronto.

-Dan-
  • aaykayaaykay Posts: 539
    Thanks for the heads-up. I have an appointment on Monday with the local dealer to have it checked out. 14mpg certainly is not reasonable.
  • ateixeiraateixeira Posts: 72,587
    Definitely sounds off. Worse ever for me was towing 1500 pounds with my Forester, which is heavier, and I still managed 17.3 mpg.

-juice
    Got it checked out at the dealer. They hooked it up to the computer but could not find anything. They recommended that I try a different brand of gas. Let us see.
  • I assume you've also checked the obvious stuff, such as making sure your tires are inflated properly. Also, be sure your air filter is clear. A really clogged filter can hurt mileage. Try taking the crossbars off the roof rack...might help. You don't carry hundreds of pounds worth of stuff in the back, do you? Good luck.

-Dan-
    Could be anything that would create extra drag - a bad wheel bearing (common before 2002), sticky brakes, underinflated tire, spent differential oil, etc.

-juice
    Pumped up the tire air pressure to 40PSI (Max press:55 psi) from 31PSI and the gas gauge seems to be dropping a lot slower. Still on the first tank of gas after I boosted the air pressure so will post the mileage during the next fillup.

My tires are Michelin pilot Sport AS in the stock size - 205/55r16 - and have had it from around 1000 miles...so that should not be a contributing factor to lower mileage either, since my mileage was much better earlier on the same set of tires.