Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Taurus/Mercury Sable Sedans Pre-2008

Comments

• robnisrobnis Posts: 78
    Thanks for the url on the SHO. I really thought that Ford had left we SHO enthusiasts to rot; however it seems feasible they might bring out a replacement. IMO it should have traction control with that 255hp engine. Anyway, I have another year in my lease so the 2001 model will be in my driveway next Spring. And I have been a loyal SHO driver for the last decade!

Your post was very much appreciated.
  • brakes seem a bit mushy, but it is fun to squeeze them slowly until stop is achieved...any comments?

100mph at 3700rpm...leaves room to go faster, but I dont trust the steering agility that much as it seems to take some effort to point it precisely. it this typical for front drive? i am not dissatisfied really, as i knew it wasn't a real sports car.

Mach "mock" stereo system is a bit weak in the treble area...or is it my 46 yr old ears?
  • oxmeadoxmead Posts: 65
    We've had the wagon for 2 months now. There were a few problems, like a hood out of line(fixed), a squeek in the headliner(fixed), the first recall(fixed). I'm wondering what others are getting for gas mileage with the duratec engine. It runs great but seems to suck gas quickly, about 120 miles from full to half. We did receive a nice emergency kit from Mercury. Did the Taurus people get one too?
  • tractiontraction Posts: 141
    Out here in the West we have speed limits of 75 on the major highways outside the urban areas, LA to Phoenix, LA to San Fran, etc. 85mph is typical on these roads, even the 18 wheelers are doing 80. It isn't unusal to to get up to 90 or 95 when passing.

I drove a rental '00 Taurus with the FFV Vulcan V-6 from LA to Phoenix and set the cruise control for 85. Did 95 to 100 a couple of times. The car is still quiet and stable at those speeds.
  • adkdadkd Posts: 1