Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Pontiac Grand Prix - 2000-2005

Comments

• dan165dan165 Posts: 653
    Your explanation clears things up but I still think it was a rather rash and impulsive move to change cars like that. It's an issue that could have been cleared up.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our Grand Prix and have had virtually no problems with it aside from some loose trim. The a/c was one component of an otherwise good car. GM engineeres have done a fine job with this car and I'm saying this after driving a Honda for many years.

Like was said above, your money.
  • rayainswrayainsw Posts: 2,550
    "I'm a busy professional, and didn't have the time to go back/forth, depend on people driving me back to dealerships, etc"

This is one aspect of 'reliability' that often seems not to be emphasized when considering new vehicles. Even when under warrantee, and the MFR is dealing with the costs, I find it both frustrating and very inconvenient to have to deal with repeated failures and / or problems with diagnosis. And the “they are all like that” response. I do understand that modern automobiles are tremendously complex devices – and prone to various problems.

While I have owned several vehicles with a lot of soul and spirit, and less than exemplary reliability, I now try to find a combination of attributes that works for me. Meaning, enough soul to be interesting (more than a CamCord) and reasonable reliability. Not an easy thing to find in a contemporary sport sedan.

I did own a previous generation GTP – and it did not have issues with the A/C – but living in Georgia I appreciate A/C and would prefer never to live here without the seat coolers in my current ride. I have no medical reason to ‘need’ powerful A/C – but I do like the comfort provided.

- Ray
    Preferring never to deal with any automobile dealership, but . . .
  • evandroevandro Posts: 1,108