Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mitsubishi Galant

Comments

• I feel vibration when I start the engine. The car is 120K, 2000 2.4L. Its like the steering wheel, dash and passenger seat vibrate about 0.5 inches. Any ideas?
  • fushigifushigi Posts: 1,232
    I'm by no means a mechanic but I'd start with the motor mounts.

Does the vibration smooth out or at least diminish when you drive v. being at idle?

(I'm at 146K on my '99 LS V6)
  • Yes the vibration reduces when driving. I got the wheels balanced yesterday.
  • I think fushigi is right. Each engine mount is surrounded by a bushing that absorbs the engine vibration. Eventually, those bushings deteriorate and the vibrations appear. It's a common occurance for inline 4 cylinders with more than 100k on the odometer. The cost of replacing them usually isn't worth having it done. I've been down this road before as well. But, it won't hurt to ask a mechanic.
  • Mike - any idea how much it might cost to get them replaced?
  • I have no idea of the cost. I just know that labor is the killer. Try searching this site for an answer mitsubishi-forums.com
    Good luck. Sorry for the delayed response.

Mike
  • Does any one know if there is a difference between the 2 models? I am trading in my 2005 GTS lease (love the car) and am purchasing the 09 SE V6 with sun/sound package. I'm not sure if there is a difference as they are no longer making the GTS version.
  • mikevegas06mikevegas06 Posts: 272
    You're correct. There's no difference as the SEV6 replaces the GTS.
  • There are both different, they are both different years, and most likely others as well !!! :shades: