Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Volvo S80

Comments

• zee6zee6 Posts: 1
    I'm new to the posting of messages but I have been reading the Boards since I bought my 2000 T6. I hate to rehash what has already been discussed but the repair bug is biting me as of late. Has anyone's T6 been diagnosed with a leak in the radiator? I have to closely monitor the antifreeze level in the reservoir, and the dealer said I might have a leak. I would welcome your comments. Also, has anyone replaced the 55W headlight bulbs themselves? Where did you get the bulbs and how much and did they last?
  • n0v8orn0v8or Posts: 169
    I change them myself, and often.

The replacements from my friendly Volvo dealer last 3-6 months, and the ones from Walmart (half the price) last 6-12 months. In general, twist off the plastic cap, pull off the connector, undo the retainer clip, and withdraw the bulb. Hints . . .
    (1) The connector takes a lot more force to remove than you might expect; wear work gloves.
    (2) There is not much room for your fingers; I use long-nose pliers to undo the retainer clip.
    (3) Use clean cotton or throw-away plactic gloves to handle the new bulb. Body oils will considerably reduce service life if you contact the glass with bare skin.
  • I've just bought an S80 2000 with 89k miles. While the test rides at the dealer felt smooth, I start feeling the vibrations (apparently coming from the transmission) during the shift from 2nd to 3rd gear now. It looks like the same issue as described in #1299 and #1300.
    Has anybody any thoughts about this issue? I have a limited (1 month) warranty from the dealer, so I'd like to know what I can expect.
    Thanks.