Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hyundai Elantra 2001-2006

Comments

• ken126ken126 Posts: 39
    That doesnt sound to good to be revving at 3400 doing 65 mph. No wonder the gas mileage is not as good as it should be. My prizm revs at 2100 doing 65 mph, which is a pretty big difference. Even so, when the hatchback hits the US, I'm buying.......
  • I used the link in #558 and looked at the article too. I very recently drove an '01 with automatic and took note of the engine speed at 65 mph; it was in the low 2300 rpm range. It doesn't make any sense what so ever that the manual would require another 1000 rpm to maintain the same speed. I am no engineer, but if the motor is turning 30% faster to maintain the same speed, wouldn't it by default be getting at least 30% less gas mileage? Yet, I believe the automatic and the 5 speed get the same highway mileage rating. If you look at Jedlicka's ( the fellow from MSN Carpoints) article on the new Mazda Protege', which is posted with the article on the Elantra, it has almost the identical set of notes (except it says 3400 at 70 mph). My theory is either the poor slob working for Jedlicka typed it wrong, or old Jedlicka got his files mixed up. That's my story and I am sticking to it!
  • Some of these reviews the guys make typos...
    I have a 5 spd 2001 Elantra: 2400-2500 rpms at 100 kph (metric) or 62 mph...My Chrysler Concorde with a 2.7 V-6 at the same speed 2100 rpms.

At a little over 140 kph or 85+ mph about 3200 rpm approx. at that speed I'm busy driving and not staring at the gauges.

This (in my opinion) is one of the smoothest 4-cylinders on the market...

Makes you wonder how accurate the rest of that persons review is whether he ever drove the car or just his keyboard...I'd rate him 1 out 10 since it's this guys job to know what he is talking about maybe his hard-drive is turning over at 3400 rpm ...
  • jan89jan89 Posts: 1