Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

BMW 3-Series 2005 and earlier

Comments

• uge123uge123 Member Posts: 100
    resounding...I ment to type rousing.
  • brave1heartbrave1heart Member Posts: 2,698
    We had a discussion on the best gas to use for the 3-series a couple of weeks ago. Shipo found sth in the manual that suggested that the ignition adjusts to the type of gas used or sth to that extent. What I got out of the discussion is that the minimum recommended by BMWNA is 91 AKI but if you use anything up to 95 AKI, the ignition should adjust and you may notice a performance gain and better fuel efficiency. Again, they require that premium fuel be used and premium fuel is defined as gas containing AKI of 91 to 95. Even my Jetta VR6 used to have a noticeably better performance with 93, although you could safely drive it with 89. I dunno, I'm not an expert on this AKI stuff at all but I'm sticking wih 93 for my 325i. Difference between 91 and 93 is typically sth like 5 cents and it makes < $1 difference per gas tank.