Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

BMW 3-Series 2005 and earlier

Comments

• i stopped reading this forum because the repeated snow tire talk IS DRIVING ME INSANE. but every few weeks i check back hoping its gone. sure enough, more tire talk. ahhhhh!!! it has been covered exhaustively. anyone else with me? can we stop?? please? pretty please?
  • kdshapirokdshapiro Posts: 5,751
    I used to put snow tires on my RWD cars. I stopped though when all-season radials came into vogue. You might get less snow in Madison, WI than we do here in the NY tri-state area. I assumed you were in snow belt country.

The weather here has been strange the last 10 years or so. In the mid-90s we had two years of horrendous snow and ice storms.

Starting in 1999, we had only a few snow falls for the winter, but when it came it was dastardly.

I have been driving on all-season tires since 1985 in the tri-state area. As I said, some years I limped along, but it could be done. My Jeep with Quadradrive had all seasons and could out-run and out-brake most other cars. (Since the Quadradrive works on acceleration and de-acceleration, 4 channel EDB brakes also helped). In other words, when braking, it finds the wheel with the most traction.

Net-net we all have different views and there is not one right for anybody. The only caveat now is I'm concerned about the winter and we will see how the all-seasons and DSC works.
  • r0n1r0n1 Posts: 3
    A month ago I purchased a half year old BMW 330Ci executive car with 8K miles on it. The oil service lamp went on today and I had to add one quart of oil myself because the service department is closed. Probably the car would need more than that. The first scheduled oil service is at 15K miles, so does that mean that the engine has a leakage? that the first owner drove it hard? I'm surprised the dealership didn't check the oil level before they sold it to me.