Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chrysler Minivan Transmission Problems

Comments

• shiposhipo Posts: 9,152
    ...these trans's need "quality" rtv on the pans and no pan gasket.

They need RTV??? Please explain. While I don't deny that they need something to keep the ATF+4 sealed inside the transmission, I truly don't understandy why they'd need RTV as opposed to a gasket. :confuse:

By the way, I've been wrenching for over three decades too so it's not like I'm spouting something that I read elsewhere on the internet.

Best Regards,
    Shipo
  • fordfan_17fordfan_17 Posts: 175
    at 1 time many years ago back in the early 90's i made the mistake of putting a pan gasket on a 604 transaxle that ended up goin back to the dealership for another issue and when the dealership noted the pangasket on the trans pan they voided that customers warranty.. that was then this is now but ever since then i have stayed on the factory guidelines. just to keep customers cars up to snuff

Cheers
    Gene
    A few points...

1) Back in the early 1990s most non-dealership shops (and sadly to say, many dealerships as well) were not using the proper Mopar ATF, and as such, many dealerships (those that did use the proper ATF) took issue with transmissions that they hadn't serviced. The gasket instead of RTV was apparently a top-off to them that somebody else had service the tranny.

2) Had that transmission failed, it would have been up to the dealership to prove that it was the gasket that caused the failure, and failing that, most any court in the land would have forced them to honor the warranty. That said, if they could also show that Dextron or Mercon was in the transmission, then all bets would have been off.

Best Regards,
    Shipo