Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Sienna Maintenance and Repair (2003 earlier)

Comments

• gunga64gunga64 Posts: 271
    I put ceramics on my 2001 camry and never looked back. If you do the job yourself its under 100.00 for the front end that included new rotors. Although I could have used the old ones they were so cheap to put new ones on about 25 each. The same should be possible with the van. When I asked Toyota how much it would cost to put ceramics on they told me they werent available.

Yet the after market folks had many available for my car.
    My 2001 also has many scratches on the front windshield. Toyota blames sand. But I've been driving for 20 years never had this problem. It appears to me that the windshield wasn't properly tempered. Also I have a scratched driver side window. It appears every Sienna that model year has these scratches. When I brought it up to Toyota during the 36,000 warrenty they blamed sand. We all know better now. Defective glass. One reason I will probally not buy another Toyota. They act like they never seen these problems before. I'm amazed they havent fixed the problem in the 2005's. It astounds me.
  • paul6paul6 Posts: 14
    Tell me the scratches in the drivers door glass are at eye level, about 1/4 the way in from the latch side. And are about 7" tall and 2 1/2" wide. I've seen this on a few Siennas.

Our 2000LE came with a defect in the door frame that has caused the weatherstripping to bind tightly against the glass. This has caused grit to accumulate, rather than be brushed off by design, and scratch the glass.

Toyota dealer in Wellesley MA denied this possibility since day one. They did replace the glass and weatherstripping under warranty when new, but the probem persists because of the improperly made door frame.