Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota RAV4 pre-2006

Comments

• Yeah, there are some big climbs up there. The Rav tended to "hunt" gears a lot on the steeper hills. Again, we have an auto, but I think with a manual, you may get better results.

The mountain driving (I also drove around the Cascades in western Washington) is the only times I really wished the Rav had more power. Here in the relatively flat east coast, the Rav provided smooth quiet rides.

kangssta - no probs here - we have a 2001 with over 28K miles, and I have to say the engine is flawless - gets smoother as you pile on the miles.
  • diploiddiploid Posts: 2,286
    suvshopper - Oh it's so fun to drive. Although I just realized that as a driver I don't have a grab handle while everyone else does. I have no troubles getting in the car, but ya know, some days you're just lazy...
  • Have been looking for a Honda CR-V for the past year. Kept holding onto my CRX to see how long I could avoid purchasing another car, and finally broke down (me, not the car). Went to the Honda dealership and started negotiating for a 2001 with 13K miles in my favorite green. They wouldn't come down and during the dance I checked out a '98 Rav 4 with 36K and took it for a ride. It had been a lease and was at the Honda lot. I had previously test driven both the old and new CR-V's. After driving the Rav 4, I was smitten. The drive and pep was substantially different. Went back in and (please tell me I didn't get screwed) paid $15,700 total, which included a 3 year 36K bumper to bumper extended warranty. It has cruise control and is an automatic. Thank for any reassurance! Oh, I live in Los Angeles, so no winter damage or the like.
  • suvshopper4suvshopper4 Posts: 1,110
    Glad to hear that you found the first generation RAV to have enough power for you.