Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

BMW 3-Series Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• qbrozenqbrozen Posts: 17,405
    I figured guibo when you mentioned the assembly. U-joint, as shifty mentioned, is the joint in question.

Also, as shifty said, if the cluch ain't slipping, it doesn't need replacing. Sounds like the shop is overreaching here.

Is it really leaking oil? If so, fix that. fuel filter, brake fluid, air filter ... sure, all good maintenance items. And, once again, reierating shifty, take it to an indy shop for all of that. I know my local bimmer shop wants $100 for a lousy oil change. No thank you!

'13 Stang GT; '86 Benz 300E; '98 Volvo S70; '12 Leaf; '14 Town&Country

• jamiem4jamiem4 Posts: 23
    Thanks again...I'm making a list of what to have fixed and where! The BMW dealer said that the 'valve cover gasket has a slight leak' and to replace it is $661. I'm not a mechanic but I do realize gaskets will wear over time and it is a used car. I'm just not sure of the price. I just don't want my son to return, drive the car, and have something bad happen if I could have spent a few hundred to prevent it. I get the feeling that at 92K there will be normal wear items. I just wonder if there are any mentioned items that should go to BMW instead of the local "import car repair center"
  • roadburnerroadburner Posts: 6,562
    edited March 2010
    The dealer is hosing you big time; no way does it cost $600+ dollars to R&R an E46 valve cover gasket. I'd start looking for a good independent BMW tech here. A good indie shop will service your car properly for much less than the dealer that is trying to gouge you.

2009 328i / 2004 X3 2.5/ 1995 318ti Club Sport/ 1975 2002A/ 2007 Mazdaspeed 3/ 1999 Wrangler/ 1996 Speed Triple Challenge Cup Replica

• Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright CaliforniaPosts: 45,013