Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





2010+ Buick Lacrosse - Options

24

Comments

  • Let's make a distiction between real Apple products vs. MP3 players. If there is a specific list of Apple models which are not compatable, follow that warning. You could easily try it in another like car at your dealer. See your salesman. I have two different models, both work (iTouch 8GB and iPod 5th Gen Video)
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    I earlier complained about lousy bass on this system. It still has problem, but let me get to good part first.
    I turned on ACC, HDD, & played a couple of tunes in the cool quiet air and cranked the volume a bit. Beetles 'Come Together' with some very bassy passes. Then I played "He ain't heavy, he's my brother". That has some very nice higher harmonic and other, but with very little low bass. It was with this tune I learned just what the sound system is capable of, minus the bass issue, and you won't believe us less you try it.
    Or will You?
    But this should convince you especially if you try same tune of equal to mine. That this is a fantastic system with acoustics that don't quit.
    BTW I learned reason the bass is distorted. I have not yet decided upon fix but I've located the harmonic spot with issue to within inch. I'll see if I can come up with esthetic appearance to fix as well as let it churn out the bass notes it is capable of.
    A hint at one of the surround or stereo point of this system. Pick something that has a wide front with vocalist center.
    I now need to do more road testing to see what interference there is to the quality. Air and road noises might reach the level of deterioation that is objectionable, subjective to me. I'll post what I learn related to driving.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Has anyone figured out how to use these files?
    Several places I've read indicate this is a non-lossy format, but when I run conversion using Foobar it pops a warning that I'm converting to a lossy format.
    If anyone has experience I'd appreciate feedback.
    Maybe it is the Nero encoder I'm using?
    But I will copy to disc and see what happens. :shades:
  • My recollection of the car's feature is that one can copy a comercial/retail music CD from the car's player to the HDD. I also understand a disk made at home which has MP3 files will likely play in the CD changer. You seem to be overly complicating what is needed. What are you trying to do? This CAR forum probably won't get you any answers. Sorry.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Space on HDD for music is limited to 10GB which is adequate, but copying full CD's that is about 15 CD's. You can do many more if you convert to MP3, but that is a lossy format and often has poor quality at some points unless you code to the very highest rate.
    Still somewhat uncertain, but I've read that m4a is not lossy and will give exact quality of CDA but in a much smaller file.
    Example, the Beatles One album, 1Hr 20 M long. That is a little over 1GB.
    If you transcode it to MP3 at the highest rate, the file is about 200MB. I'm not certain because three songs I transcoded at a lower rate just for comparison. My coding to m4a yielded a little over 220 MB, but I think I used the standard rate which is deemed CD quality. That would mean four times as many full disks to the HDD.
    Does that help explain it.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Update. Success!!!
    It turns out that windows built in burning must have gotten corrupted. Added other burning software and burned files the car would not previously read.
    M4A is really great!!
    What I've also learned is that the system reads a CD just like the computers HDD. That is if you use the Nav screen for listing what is available, it reads the file name which means it is best to use the Artist, Album, song, etc for naming files, but it reads the tags to get that info when displaying what is being played.
    The HUD could confuse since it says MP3 List, not an MP3.
    BTW I used highest rate and 1:59 of music only take 325MB. That would be 60 hours on HDD. I'll try lower rates to see if I find them satisfactory.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    I found that there is a button in the end of the turn signal stalk. At first I thought it was non-functional but holding it for a couple of seconds the Nav system makes a chime. I observed no other function than it makes a sound. I don't see anything in manual.
    Does anyone know what it is supposed to do?
  • cooterbfdcooterbfd Posts: 2,770
    Really??? That's the button I use to reset the trip odo and fuel econ.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Now where did I put those keys? ;-)
    And only a couple of hours earlier I fueled and reset everything. Brainfart? I'm thinking that I had the tire pressure sensors showing but uncertain. I guess what confused me was the sound coming from the NAV system and then looking in that area to find what the chime was.
    Thanks (with a red face).
  • cooterbfdcooterbfd Posts: 2,770
    ".....Brainfart? "

    Could that be where the odor is coming from??? (Please don't erase this message for that) :P
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    That is usually accompanied by a little smoke. ;-)
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Since commanding display to day mode I have not had the issue of it being so dark I could not see it and not being able to turn it up. I'm not sure what mode it was in before because I recently commanded night mode just to see what it does and don't remember ever seeing the black background before.
    I'm unhappy with the dimming that is controlled by the rocker button. Under quite dark conditions the speedometer area is too bright. Turning that down to what seems proper results in the blue lighting going out and before that point the Nav display being too dark, even in day mode. I learned this recently on a long drive with night driving.
    This is a safety issue!
    The Nav system is a safety item. Adjusting the guage area to a safe level for night time visibility makes the Nav Display useless.
    Is anyone else having this issue?
    It seems that having the Nav Display tied to the dimmer should not have been done, but handled by Day/Night mode instead.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Clarifying "BTW I used highest rate and 1:59 of music only take 325MB. That would be 60 hours on HDD. I'll try lower rates to see if I find them satisfactory."
    That is 1:59 is 1 hour 59 minutes.
    Or about 6 hours of music per gigabyte,
    or 60 hours of very high quality music in the allotted 10GB for music on HDD.
  • gberpagberpa Posts: 44
    edited January 2011
    I agree totally with your comments regarding the gauges/nav screen lighting in the evening. The best compromise for me is to get the best lighting for the nav screen and accept the brighter gauges. I then try to rely mainly on the DIC/HUD for info and avoid glancing at the gauges. I will see if dealer has solution on my next visit when replacement seat memory module comes in.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Thanks g.
    I will also the next time I'm in. And from now on if my complaint is not satisfactorally written, I will add my own statement when they ask me to sign work order. It might even say, "See attached sheets!"
    I forgot just what the reason was they were replacing memory module for you.
    They did not answer my complaint on memory issues and next time I will have both FOBS and show them what the issue is.
    Also the part of busted battery case. And they say battery is 60 month when installing dealer wrote it was 30 month. Tomorrow I will pull and verify myself.
    Thanks
  • Since the first day I've had my CXS, my display is fine night and day, I set my dash once and have left it there since July. No problems.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Is it 2011? Do you have the Nav package or HUD?
    Is the brightness level between standard guages and screen comparable?
    One knob sets the HUD separately, so no problem there.
    The guages, blue lighting, and Nav screen are tied together.
    Full brightness is OK for some city driving, but for most city I'd prefer it turned down to at least where blue lights disappear, approximately 1/2 way. At that point the Nav screen is getting rather dim and hard to see in day mode, but even darker in night mode.
    Out on dark stretches of highway where I'd prefer something resembling a black cockpit, dimming properly just is not feasible with this system design or problem.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    Has anyone seen the update we are supposedly eligible for?
    Mine shows that it has an early 2009 Navigation.
    I'm still hoping that when they do release an update it will fix other issues like shortage of voice commands.
  • My experience with these updates is that it is merely new streets, new points of interest and corrections. Its like getting a 2010 map to replace your 2009 map (which was researched in 2007). Voice commands are in the system firmware or software, not in the electronic maps. Rarely is even a new map free. Check eBay for DVDs. I have seen MSRPs of $295 selling for under $100.
  • e_net_ridere_net_rider Posts: 1,380
    You might be correct as to what the update map disk contains. Someone had posted a few months back that GM was going to give us one free update because of the age of map installed on assembly.

    I just keep hoping that they will come out with a firmware or software update to fix some of the other issues. There were quite a few complaints about early 2010 models and some features not working at all. Some of these features were supposedly enabled in later model.

    I'm still confused on this voice command:
    Route (used in conjunction with another command)
    I don't see any use of that word, route, elsewhere in instructions and in most cases find (used in conjunction with another command) confusing and not comprehensible.
Sign In or Register to comment.