Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dodge Ram Owners

Comments

• arazaraz Posts: 27
    Wow, now I know why my RAM 1500 was $5,000 cheaper than a comparable Ford. That's what it'll
    cost me to keep it running.
  • mharde2mharde2 Posts: 278
    Liana, Don't worry about the transmission. They have made some improvements on the new ones. I havn't heard any bad reports on the 97s & 98s.
  • I'm just beginning to look for a new P/U. Right now I have my eye on a 2500 4x4 SLT Quad Cab with the cummins engine. I have two questions. Does anyone have a guess at the gas mileage? And will short trips shorten the life? It is only 15 miles to work.
  • KCRamKCRam Mt. Arlington NJPosts: 3,516
    I have a larger rig than what you're shopping for - click on my name link to see the configuration. Depending on my right foot, I get anywhere from 15 to 22 mpg. Short trips will not shorten the life as long as you get the engine up to operating tem. I'm only 6 miles from work myself. It's the maintenance that will make or break the engine's life expectancy. Take care of the Cummins by the book, and it will outlast the rest of the truck.

Need help navigating? kcram@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.
    Share your vehicle reviews

• DmatDmat Posts: 43
    I don't know if you knew this, but if you took the Cummins out of the truck, it would pull a whopping 20,000 lbs. The restricting factor, for the most part, are the breaks.

BTW if a V configuration works better in a Diesel, why don't big rigs (Mack, Peterbuilt, Volvo...) use the idea.

Matt D
    mjdrake@yahoo.com

P.S. The site is completely up and running now :)
    Matt,