Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2012 - 2013 Toyota Avalon

Comments

• solara01solara01 Member Posts: 4
    I have a 2013 Avalon Limited with Tech Pack, Floor Mats, Cargo Net, and Mud Flaps. Sticker is $42,500. I paid $38,900. Like anything it is a preference of taste. The Avalon doesn't compete with the Volvo S60 and I have not been in one to compare but I am familiar with Volvo products and you can't go wrong.

I think the reason the Avalon won out was because of resale value. My loaded 2001 Solara that I paid $20,000 for is still worth $7,000. I am a Tech guy, it took me almost a week to go through all of the features in this car. That is part of the issue when buying a new car. You can not tell how user friendly the electronics are from a test drive. The Avalon is almost all touch sensitive buttons. They are well laid out and responsive. There is nothing cheap in this car. You can feel and touch the quality through out. This is why it is rated better than their sister Lexus ES series.

I will now address the seats and ride. I also thought that the seats needed a bit more cushy in the tushy. I went on a 300 mile road trip and I was very comfortable. I am 6' and 250lbs. so I think I am a good judge and I no longer have a complaint. The ride, handling and acceleration is very good.
    Even with a full load this car moves. It is no longer a floating sofa and therefor you have to trade something for that performance. It handles pot holes very well but under some road conditions it can be a bit harsh.

In most cases the new car experience wears off. Not here! I look forward to getting into this car everyday!
  • poorthingflintpoorthingflint Member Posts: 61