Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!

2006 or 2008 Civics over 100K Miles.

tkdkl83tkdkl83 Member Posts: 1
This is my first time trying to buy a used car from a dealership and have looked at reviews, consumer reports, KBB, and of course edmunds TMV calculator to figure out pricing. I have even checked the carfax reports of a few cars and have a couple in mind.

The 2006 and 2008 Civics I am looking at are all over 100K miles for around $12000, and have had only one owner per carfax. They seemed to have a consistent maintenance schedules. I didn't see anything about them changing out the AT transmission fluid though. I did see something about required maintenance performed listed.

Is there anything I should be looking out for as well? Are these even good cars to invest in since I am wanting something to last me a long time. I guess I am just looking for general advice since it is my first time going through this process.

Comments

• isellhondasisellhondas Member Posts: 20,342
    First of all, don't depend on a Car Fax to tell you much of anything. They are simply something to look at and most dealers don't report maintenance.

A well maintained Civic is just getting started in life with 100,000 miles.

I wold take it to a dealer or a quality Indy shop for a pre purchase inspection if you aren't car savvy.
  • tahoebob1tahoebob1 Member Posts: 1
    I own a 2006 Civic EX with about 170,000 on it. The only issues I have had over the lifetime have been the little latch on the center console ($3 dollar part) and most recently the seal which runs up both sides of the windshield and over the top has worn through. It is hot where I live. Recently when I put on newer tires I lost MPG. Something to consider. Hope this helps! :)
  • shelburnerickshelburnerick Member Posts: 3