Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Edmunds Member Spotlight - Meet Qbrozen!

Qbrozen credits his father for much of his mechanical knowledge: "My father has been a mechanic for over 40 years. He's worked on everything from army aircraft to kids' dirt bikes. A seriously gifted man. I think the most important thing I learned from him (and I'm still learning) is to not be intimidated by a repair. Get in there and get your hands dirty!"

We are very grateful that Qbrozen has helped countless members dealing with mechanical issues by sharing his knowledge and expertise in Edmunds Forums.

What was your first car?
My first vehicle was a '79 CJ7 with the inline 6, 3-speed manual tranny, manual brakes, manual steering, and 33" x 12.5" tires! I swear I will teach my son on such a vehicle! The effort that it took to drive that jeep is astounding. I loved it! Everything else since that has been a piece of cake in comparison. And it was absolutely bulletproof ... just not phone-pole proof, as I found out.

Of all the cars you've owned, which was your favorite and why?
I've never been able to figure this out, so I'll just go with my current love, my '08 135i. It is silly quick, handles great, looks good, and its comfortable. My '98 S70 T5 is still in the running, though.

If you were a car which car would you be and why?
Ummm... how about a Unimog? Awkwardly tall, not particularly attractive, not particularly athletic, but very functional and resourceful.

If you could invite 3 cars over for dinner which would you have?
The last Saab 9-5 because that poor orphan would be in need of a meal and probably a place to crash. A new Ferrari California and Porsche Panamera, both for the same reason: they are underappreciated cars that I personally find sexy. They need love.

What do you like and dislike about today's auto industry?