Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mazda Protegé

Comments

• seminole_kevseminole_kev Posts: 1,722
    I'm not a Pro owner, but I've driven both the Pro and Sentra. I'd take the Pro 8 days a week over the Sentra. The only thing I could think that might swing you the other way is if the Protege's ride is too stiff for you. The Sentra, for some reason, feels very cramped compared to the rest of its class.

As far as resale value, I bet they'll be almost identical down the road.

Of course these are my opinions, buy what you want and do what is going to make you happy. Good luck.
  • dsm6dsm6 Posts: 813
    How long down the road do you plan to sell?
  • newcar31newcar31 Posts: 3,711
    You can use different filters than what is specified for your car. For example, GM has two different size filters that are interchangable. The reason for the size difference for some applications is clearance. If the clearance is OK, you can use the bigger filter is most cases. It's the inside of the filter that can make things tricky though. The bypass and anti-drainback valves may be different. Just because the filter threads on OK, doesn't mean that it will work OK. I am not sure about using the V6 Mazda fitler instead of the regular one. I guess you could shoot MazdaUSA an e-mail and ask them.
  • the_big_hthe_big_h Posts: 1,583
    when I put on the v6 filter!

2 more hours and I'm outta here!!!

long weekend, woohoo!
  • the_big_hthe_big_h Posts: 1,583
    lifted up the car up onto jackstands, and found all the key items easy enough, but then I hit a snag. The frigging drain plug is bolted dead tight and I couldn't get it off!!!! Looks like the dealer airwrenched that SOB in good. #*^%(&$*(#&!(!FF(*$&(*!!!!!

I'll try again with help from someone that has air tools to untighten that POS >:(
  • maltbmaltb Posts: 3,572
    are you sure you are going the right direction? I've never seen one I couldn't get off.