Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Ranger Maintenance and Repair

Comments

• Man, you got to give us more information than that... LOL You arent going to get any information back unless you tell us what model, engine, stuff like that.
  • I have 88 2.9 engine. It is experiencing something in the ignition system. At times it has no spark, then a day later it will be fine. Just replaced the distributor with a Napa rebuilt, started, next day no start. I have also replaced the coil, computer, cap, wires, and EEC relay. Any ideas.
    Thanks
  • Wife called and she was driving our 98 6cyl and said it cranks but quickly cuts off. I am thinking fuel pump system and relays though I have no experience with this system on a Ford.
    The temperature just took a drastic dive last night and wonder if that could be a cause or coincidence.
    Any suggestions or reference areas would be very appreciated.
  • I need some serious help here. I just bought my parents truck, 94 Splash with a 4.0. My dad was fed up with it; the engine has been rebuilt, new injectors, fuel pump, plugs and wires, coil pack. When it's damp out the truck spits and sputters and loses a lot of power. The Tachometer stops working and the check engine light comes on. Any suggestions please. I'm not mechanically inclined. :mad:
  • dannybdannyb Posts: 2
    i HAVE A 97 RANGER WITH 4.0 L 104,000 MILES HAVE HAD IT ABOUT A YEAR AND CHECK ENG.LIGHT HAS ALWAYS BEEN ON WAS TOLD MAF SENSOR SO I CLEANED IT AND STILL THE SAME YESTERDAY IT STARTED IDILING REAL ROUGH. WHEN YOU STOP IT IS ROUGH IDLE AND LIGHTS DIM AND VOLTAGE GUAGE GOES CRAZY. HAD CODES PULLED AND PO171 AND PO174 CAME UP THESE ARE FOR O2 SENSORS.WHEN THIS HAPPENS YOU CAN GIVE IT GAS AND RUS GOOD.ANY HELP APPRECIATED.WEATHER HERE COLDER THAN NORMAL DONT KNOW IF THAT MATTERS. THANKS
  • bolivarbolivar Posts: 2,316