Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jaguar XJ-Series

Comments

• pp1pp1 Posts: 4
    Had my XJ8 this past winter here in Philly and had no problems. Of course, it's not an SUV with 4 wheel drive. I used the manual shifting of the transmission to allow better control and took it slow. Good luck.
  • Thanks. Are you happy you got the car? Is it what you expected? Any problems?
  • blckislandguyblckislandguy Posts: 1,150
    While I'm no expert on XJs, I do recall that Car & Driver did a test a year or so ago comparing RWD, FWD, FWD , and AWD . My recollection was that installing good winter tires (the new kind, not our father's tractor lug type "snow" tires) effectively improved winter traction one level. In other words a RWD with Blizzaks was now as good as FWD w/o winter tires. A FWD with Blizzaks was comparable to an AWD with simply all season tires.

This makes me think that an XJ with traction control and a set of dedicated winter tires and wheels would be OK in Northeastern cities and suburbs although probably in rural upstate New York (hello, Car and Driver's Brock Yates, how does your XJ get around Wyoming, NY?), northern ME, VT etc. you would want FWD or better. Although it would probably handle it with ease, the mental image of an XJ on the Rt 32 in mid-coast Maine on a winter night boggles the mind.
  • desertjoedesertjoe Posts: 1