Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Matrix Engine Questions

Comments

• I'm a newbie here, but couldn't find anything on this. just purchased on '08 Matrix xr, and today after about 35 mins of stop/go driving around town, I popped the hood to make sure the fluid levels were right (going back to the dealer for a few things tomorrow). when I tried to prop up the hood, the black spindle that props the hood was really really hot. facing the engine, it's on the left side of the engine bay, and it did seem all the metal I touched around that area was really hot. too hot to touch.

is this normal?

is there any sort of "fix" for it?

thanks in advance for any/all help....

tm
  • nippononlynippononly SF Bay AreaPosts: 12,669
    It is normal for anything metal under the hood to be very hot to the touch immediately after driving around. You should be able to use the hood prop, however, but not to hang onto it for several minutes.

2013 Civic SI, 2009 Outback Sport 5-spd (stick)

• I agree with moontom. I have a Matrix and do my own maintenance. Yeah, that thing can get kinda hot, but I'm only touching it for about 5 seconds at a time, and I try to focus on the little plasticky-rubber thing at the end that inserts into the hood.
  • I've had lots of toyotas and recently a mazda 3, and all would get somewhat hot, but not to the point where you pull yr hand away trying to just prop up the hood. the temp gauge seems fine so I'm not going to worry. but when it's time to work on this puppy I will find a shady spot and proceed with caution.

thanks for the insights!
  • Check the color of the ECT sensor plastic portion. If it is black the problem is the sensor. Change to the gray sensor. The female vehicle connector will plug into either sensor even though they have different raised keyways on them. It worked for my '03 Matrix XR
  • tkerrtkerr Posts: 2