Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Hyundai Azera Audio and Entertainment

11517192021

Comments

  • rance2rance2 Posts: 39
    I have a 2007 Azera Limited and having no luck getting answers to iPod hook up. Just back from recommended audio shop and they could find no cable in their resource materials. Do you know if external tuner is on 2007? Dealer no help. Thanks.
  • LisaDLisaD Posts: 50
    I just don't believe there's no way to get iPod integration into the 2009's with Nav.
    There HAS to be a way. The problem is, the after market people don't give any priority to Hyundai IMO.

    When folks are ripping things out/changing things - PLEASE take/post pics of these things. :)
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    The only way I can think of that would still give good sound is to go with a wired FM modulator...

    Universal FM Modulator for iPod

    image

    If you wanna know how to get the OEM head unit out, I created a guide that would assist you in getting to it. To be honest, it's really pretty easy and if you have about 30 mins, anyone can do it with a little patience.

    Azera Stereo Removal Guide

    If you need a guide with some images to assist you, here's the guide from Metra's website that comes with the dash kit you can order...

    Metra: Azera OEM Radio Removal Guide
  • LisaDLisaD Posts: 50
    Yes - but it won't BE good sound. :) Not for me anyway.
  • LisaDLisaD Posts: 50
    Art - Can you share anything about this? How they were able to give you Aux in?
  • rk2469rk2469 Posts: 30
    THIS ISN'T A KNOCK OR CRITICISM. It's just my disappointment.

    With all due respect allmet33, the installed cd player looks hideous. I am sure it works well. But, it doesn't flow. Dang it. That looks cheap, too. It's a bad HGTV after effects. It's very retro. Sorry. I am sure this sounds very disrespectful.

    Couldn't you find a better audio unit that flowed with the angle of center stack? I don't think it offers better functionality than the standard Infinity unit that comes with Limited. It doesn't have aux, usb port, or anything.

    I know I haven't been able to, unfortunately. All after-market installation would look like that. I wish there was better design options... :-(

    Nonetheless, you did it, so it's more than what I could have done. So, this isn't a knock or criticism. It's like taking out a cancer but left a person with bad disfigurement or a giant scar.

    Very nice wheel, though. Again, you did more than what I could have done. So, it's something. I just wished that you had found better solution.. Maybe, there isn't a better solution... Also, your contribution to this forum is amazing. Thank you for that.

    I think after reading many posts here, Azera's audio expandability is limited. I think it's time for new Azera to have better technical audio solution.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    rk2469...

    I'm sorry that YOU'RE disappointed, however...it's MY car and stereo system, so I'm not even worried about that as I thoroughly enjoy it myself. You are entitled to your opinion.

    As far as finding a unit that "flows" with the angle of the dash, one doesn't exist that isn't OEM. Considering I have the tan interior, I didn't feel a black unit would look right in there. Oh...there's a unit that can be purchased @ Korean Auto Imports that has a built in screen in that location and you can install your own single din unit where the cubby hole is, but I'm not paying $850 just to be able to do that. For that money, I can have a complete system.

    As far as cheap...hardly, it's one of the better units that Pioneer has made. Maybe you should look up all the features it offers as well as the expandability too. As far as increased functionality over the OEM unit...surely you jest!!! Granted, I can't load 6 CD's at one time (you can only listen to one at a time), but I have more control over my music, as well as shaping the sound to suite my tastes. I can also add satellite radio with no problem, I have an aux input for anything I may want to add AND the ability to control my aftermarket subwoofer as well. Oh yeah, I did lose my steering wheel control, but I have a remote...big deal. I can probably find the adapter that would allow me to utilize my steering wheel controls if I really wanted to.

    I am actually going to be pulling that unit out and installing a double din DVD unit, which I'm sure will look better to you. Then again, maybe not since you seem to like the OEM look. Here's an Azera with a double din multi-media unit in the dash...
    imageSee more Car Pictures at CarSpace.com

    The one thing that makes it easy in this is that the dash is black, so pretty much anything you put in will flow.

    You're right, I did it because it's what I wanted. I looked at what was available at the time and made the choice based on what suited my needs and wants. Now, the market is flooded with so many options your head will spin when you go searching. Everything isn't for everyone and I don't expect to get everyone's approval when they look at what I've done with my Azera. In the end, it's what I'm happy with that matters.

    Maybe one day you'll get the nerve up to do something that you will end up enjoying.

    Happy Easter!
  • rk2469rk2469 Posts: 30
    I've been looking into installing a Pionner Nav unit that has MSN traffic feature. I really like this car and there is nothing wrong with this car. I have a new car itch right now. I have been thinking either the Genesis, G8, or FX 35. But I have a perfectly good car.

    That Korean import unit doesn't do the gps nav. So, it's no better since it offers no enhanced functionality, thus no substance. oh. and the G8 doesn't have gps nav either. Isn't that stupid, too.

    I think a gps nav unit with the mp3/wmv like capabilities with usb and/or compact/sd/xd flash drive compatible unit would be really cool.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    I feel you, my car is perfectly fine as well, but the Genesis is calling me!!! LOL

    You're absolutely right, the unit that Korean Auto sells is really only good for having a screen in your dash to either watch movies/tv or have a back-up camera. GPS isn't an option, so to be quite honest...it's a total waste of money.

    Yes...that is why I'm upgrading to the new Pioneer unit I came across. Take a look and you might see why I like it so much. I don't need a nav unit as I have a phone with built in nav feature that works GREAT!

    Pioneer AVH-P4100DVD

    When I did my initial install, units with USB connectivity weren't available. However, it is able to play CD's loaded with mp3, wma or aac files. Not to mention, the sound output of an aftermarket unit is much better than what you'll get with the OEM unit.
  • rk2469rk2469 Posts: 30
    I was thinking more along lines of

    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130AVICF70/Pioneer-AVIC-F700BT.html?tp=144
    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130AVICF90/Pioneer-AVIC-F900BT.html?tp=144
    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130F90BT/Pioneer-Premier-AVIC-F90BT.html?tp=144

    Some of these units have MSN traffic info service. You can pay $129 for the life time service (for this particular unit). You get the MSN info thing like those watches that they sell. This is far better than the XM traffic where you have to pay $10+ to get this service. However, I never came across how MSN traffic things works. I am just speculating that it works like way it should or like the Sync/Microsoft Automotive 3.0+.

    These cost bit more than the AVH-P4100DVD. However, a Navigation Option is something. So, if you add $200 to AVH-P4100DVD, then you get the AVIC-F700BT op AVIC-F900BT. The product descriptions say that a person can use voice command to control the system. That's also worth something, if it works like way it should (Microsoft Sync).

    If you have a SD card or usb flash drive option, CD aren't really necessarily. CD holds 700MB +. If you have 6 discs, that's 4.2GB +. That's less than 8 or 16 GB SD you can buy for $30. Also, you don't have to burn the CDs all the time. I actually find the CDs annoying now. I think if this function works way it was intended, it would be a great functionality.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    All of them are fine units, it really just boils down to what gives you what you want and need in a unit. Personally, I have no need for the MSN traffic feature, so it would be a wasted cost for me.

    Considering I enjoy listening to my music loud (when situations permit), voice command does nothing for me either. I've got a hand and a remote that will do everything I need done. ;)

    Now you're getting there. The main reason I like the P4100DVD is that it offers options. I can plug thumb drives into it and play music off of them. I agree, I'm getting tired of burning CD's too. Thumb drives and SD cards are so much better!!! I can hook an iPod directly to it and control everything from the screen. Honestly, you wouldn't listen to 4.2GB of music at one time, unless you were driving across the nation. I've burned an MP3 cd and played it from DC to Orlando, FL and didn't start hearing songs repeat until we got into FL...on a single disc. Like I said before, I don't miss being able to load 6 cd's at one time.
  • wobbly_earswobbly_ears Posts: 160
    MSN Traffic uses info sent by your local FM stations. MSN, using FM radio stations, send out information on a seperate data channel which MSN Traffic receiver can decrypt. So, you need to be within a local participating FM radio station's reach to get this data.

    While we need to pay for this info here in US, In Europe, this information is actually free! (But then again, they're socialists! :)))))
  • Did any year Azera come with a in the trunk rear speaker cover like the the Genesis has?. It would help prevent damage to the speakers and probably improve sound quality.
  • gamlegedgamleged Posts: 442
    Not sure what you mean, but the 2006 Azera has a fully carpet-lined trunk, including all up under the rear deck...
  • My 2008 LTD did not come with a under the package tray cover that would cover the speakers, now I will look around the dealers lot and see if I'm a loner. Thanks for the quick reply.
  • justinrwjustinrw Posts: 18
    So I posted a while back that I got the AVN52D for Christmas. I installed it soon after but finally took a pic to post up here after I saw the recent talk about the nav not looking right. All feedback from friends that have been in my car has been positive. I am happy with the looks, and it definitely ups the quality of sound. Surely going to get some new door speakers to handle the extra power. Still have to wire the steering wheel controls adapter, wireless bluetooth and IPOD adapter. I just haven't figured out where all that stuff is going to fit behind the dash.

    imageSee more Car Pictures at CarSpace.com

    imageSee more Car Pictures at CarSpace.com
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Congrats!!! That unit looks SWEET!!! I can't wait to upgrade mine now!!!

    You will definitely benefit from upgrading your speakers as well. Are you planning on doing it yourself? It's really pretty easy. I've created a couple guides that can assist you with the speaker replacement.
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Well...the '06's did come with the cover you're talking about. Maybe you can ask the parts guy to order you one and installing it should be a breeze.
  • megarockmegarock Posts: 16
    I have put two external modules for USB and Bluetooth (CD-UB100 and CD-BTB200) wrapped together in foam just behind the dashboard (see the picture below). Good luck with the install Justin!

    image
  • justinrwjustinrw Posts: 18
    that picture will help me a lot. thank you much. when I was installing the head unit I had a lot of trouble getting the climate controls detached (unplugged).

    my biggest concern is the "white noise" i hear when the audio is turned on. radio reception is shoddy at times as well. did you run into these problems?

    i bought the steering wheel control adapter for my AVN52D but i'll be damned if I can figure out how to hook it up and program it according to the instructions. I guess I'll have to scan it and post the image in my carspace and see what you guys think.
  • megarockmegarock Posts: 16
    Since I have added the Pioneer head unit I have to admit that there might be an arguable decrease in the FM sensitivity. This of course could be caused due to poorer FM reception (regardless of the Pioneer's "Super Tuner" bla-bla marketing s**t) but on other hand now the sound is much crisper and wider and previously existing white noise becomes more audible at present. But why listen to the radio when I have 160Gb hard drive hooked up! Traffic news...hardly!
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Megarock...I too noticed a decrease in the reception for FM stations as well when I installed my aftermarket Pioneer unit. Sounds like you don't have much of an issue with it. I hardly ever listen to the radio myself, so it's not a problem for me either.

    By the way, do you have window tint on your rear window?
  • hjc1hjc1 Posts: 183
    How about this thought ..... check the power source for the antenna booster that's used for the rear window antenna. By replacing the OEM radio you could have lost the power connection for that booster.................. that would cause poor reception on AM & FM
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    THAT...is a good thought and highly possible. Considering Scosche took forever to get the wiring harness wired correctly to power the the OEM amp.
  • megarockmegarock Posts: 16
    I have no tint at all. I did my HU installation the barbarian way - I simply cut the wires and soldered what I needed and did not notice PIN 23 where you can see is the power for the booster:
    image

    Only thing that puzzles me is why there is a separate pin for this when the REM could have been used instead? Is the B+ 12v? I think it is most probably 5v (just like the set top box or the satellite radio) but then in the specifications there's nothing mentioned about a tuner booster!? I have a converter for 5v (cigarette type for 3$) which supplies power for the hard drive and I can use it to power also the booster
    image

    I'll check the previous posts as I remember some time ago there was a big discussion on the booster thing. If anyone can shed some light I will be more than grateful!
  • allmet33allmet33 Posts: 3,557
    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...the old chop it up method. Yeah, I used to do that when I first started putting radios in cars. Boy...talk about headaches. With today's systems, harnesses are almost mandatory!

    Good luck and let us know what you find out.
  • Called Hyundai customer service, told them about my 08 Azera not having a cover in trunk to cover the speakers on May 1, today got the call from the dealer to come in and have the cover installed. Couldn't ask for quicker service. While at the dealer, looked in the trunk of another brand new 08 Azera, again no cover, must be a assembly line screw up.
  • wobbly_earswobbly_ears Posts: 160
    Nope, it isn't an assembly-line screw-up, but rather a stupid penny-pinching exercise. Hyundai's flagship Genesis also doesn't have a cover for speaker in the trunk. The fact that they're installing one for you is just a goodwill exercise. Atleast, they're trying to keep customers happy.

    I have cover on my 07 & my Azzy is still the best car for money I paid.
  • gamlegedgamleged Posts: 442
    That's good service!...
  • Rear speaker cover installed today, sure makes the trunk look more like a luxury car trunk and not that unfinished look. While at the dealer checked out three Genesis and none had the speaker cover installed, if I pay 36K for a car I'd expect it to be complete, shame on Hyundai trying to save $200 on a 36K sale.
Sign In or Register to comment.