Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chevrolet Cavalier Climate Control/AC Issues

13»

Comments

• jrmnjrmn Posts: 2
    had same problem . Turned out it was the serpentine chain that should have been replaced as manual said. One garage told me the S belt is fine, went to another place and told them i wanted it replaced and problem was fixed. To be fare to first mechanic the belt LOOKED fine on car but once off you could see it had to go.

I am no mechanic just telling what happened to me . Good luck
  • hams1hams1 Posts: 4
    Thanks I will check it out. Hams
  • My father and I just replaced the a/c compressor and condenser on my 2000 Cavalier. The a/c hasn't worked for years and I finally decided to fix it myself as opposed to pay serious $$$ to have someone else do it.

The problem is that we can't get the compressor clutch to engage. The relay seems to be working and we hear it when we turn the a/c on from inside the car. We tested the old compressor after we took it out by running wires directly from the battery to the compressor and it engaged. That made us think that maybe the a/c wasn't working NOT because the compressor was bad, BUT because it wasn't getting enough juice to engage the clutch.

Does anyone know how many volts the a/c compressor needs (at the compressor terminals) to engage the clutch?

email me at kevin.evers@pgpinc.com

Thanks!
  • Mr_ShiftrightMr_Shiftright CaliforniaPosts: 45,259
    Now you know it won't engage unless you have the proper amount of refrigerant in there, all charged up, right?

If you're charged, then I'd suggest you find the pressure switch and test it by bypassing it. If the compressor engages when you buy pass it, then that's your problem--the switch (or low refrigerant if you haven't tested refrigerant pressure).