Edmunds dealer partner, Bayway Leasing, is now offering transparent lease deals via these forums. Click here to see the latest vehicles!
Options

Chevrolet Impala Transmission Problems

15678911»

Comments

• Options
    JohanphilipJohanphilip Member Posts: 2
    i also had the same problem with Chevrolet Impala transmission. I don't know how to fix it yet.
  • Options
    Winston89Winston89 Member Posts: 1
    I had the same problem myself and replaced it with a remanufactured transmission from these guys https://reman-transmission.com/transmission-codes/?code=4T65E. They fixed all the factory defects and the car has run great ever since.
  • Options
    floridachevy2015floridachevy2015 Member Posts: 1
    I am no mechanic in any way. For now fingers crossed :# , I have a 2015 chevy impala lt limited to date it has 147k miles and it is the body style of the 2008-2012 models. I purchased the car in 2017 with 33k miles. In 2020, I began to experience an effect with the car only going 50-55 mph and the gears would rev high, and when cranking the car it would rev high while idling in park and you have to shift down in drive for the car not to knock as hard (like bad mounts), when you shift to reverse it knocks hard like bad mounts again, and the indicator on the dash was not displaying which gear the car was in (not even park). Weirdly, in certain drive ways, that were slanted or sloped just right, the car would then indicate the gears and drive like new again. I took my car to every mechanic who just said replace the transmission, its easier but thats 3k or 6k in certain places!!! I had given up on this car by now; I had not had an oil change in over a year and only added oil and trans fluid when the car made sounds.. I was primarily taking my car to wal mart for oil changes and others places as well, I believe the issue was the fluid checks along with myself inputting to much transmission fluid!! Mind you, I only owe 2500.00 on this car...