Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Camry Suspension Questions

1235»

Comments

• pff3pff3 Posts: 1
    edited October 2010
    I have a 2009 Camry with 12k miles and I have the exact same issue that you mentioned in #2 above. At low speeds, especially when turning into driveways, I hear a loud clunking noise from the back end of the car.

I took it to the dealer and they "couldn't replicate" the problem and refused to investigate it further. I did a quick visual inspection and everything appears to be firmly attached, but I'm far from an expert in suspensions. I'm planning to bring it back in and take the Toyota technician for a ride so that I can replicate the problem for him.

Just wondering if anyone else is coming across this issue.
  • Lot of 07-08 Camry's have defective struts. Toyota and the dealerships are stressing over that. They won't recall them. Far too many Camrys on the road, far too expensive. So, they blow people off, and wait until the struts get really bad (at around 60K miles), then offer to replace for about $1500. At 60K, the car has just ruined its 3rd set of tires (premature wear due to defective struts.) As you drive around town, look at the rear tires of 07 and later Camrys as they go down the street. It is easy to see, on 2 out of 3 Camrys, that the back tires are bouncing way more than they should. It is high frequency, low amplitude bouncing.

So, I have to agree with your advice. Repair your vehicle and move on with your life. And don't buy another Toyota, make sure they know you won't buy another Toyota, and make sure to do your part to ensure no one else buys a Toyota, i.e., word of mouth.