Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Toyota Avalon Audio Questions

1678911

Comments

  • I have owned a new 09 Avalon LTD for just two weeks and today we went on a short trip. We were listening to cds on the excellent sound system. Two CDs that i know are ok (we listen to them in the other car and at home) skipped in a couple places.
    Anyone else had this problem? Should we take it back to the dealer?
  • chilin12chilin12 Posts: 9
    Same is happening to me on my '06 Avalon. Somebody suggested me to check the random function of the system if is in the "on" position but I haven't be able to find where to check. Let us know the results of your finding.
    Chilin 12
  • rscofieldrscofield Posts: 6
    We just got a new 09 Avalon XLS with Nav for my wife. It does have the Aux jack in one of the compartnents and I can play my IPOD using a charger. I would like to add a dedicated adapter that charges. I did this in my 03 Tundra and it works nicely. My question is - do I have to remove the head unit to connect the adapter to the Sat jack? Do not really want to start mucking around with her new car or I may get shot!
    Thks,
    Russ
  • gstern94gstern94 Posts: 9
    Hi,

    Can you tell me what if any text is displayed on the Avalon's info screen when using this device? Will you be able to see track or artist name? Thanks so much.
  • gstern94gstern94 Posts: 9
    Hi, can you give me an example of the text support you get? Artist/Podcast/Track etc.. are they visible in some fashion?
  • tjc78tjc78 JerseyPosts: 5,023
    The model I had installed offered no text support at all. The newer models may, as mine was installed in late 2006.

    1999 Chevy S10 / 2004 Merc Grand Marquis / 2012 Buick LaCrosse

  • I have a 98 Avalon equipped with the 3CD L4210 changer which is showing ERROR 1 and does not play neither commercial nor recorded at home CDs. I have noticed several owners have had similar problems with this unit, but no answers were found.
    I have already run the head cleaner to no avail.

    2 questions:
    a) Is this a correctable problem, or there is a need to replace the whole audio system?
    b) Which manual describes the receiver/CD changer removal?

    Thanks
    Alberto
  • tjc78tjc78 JerseyPosts: 5,023
    Way back in 2000 when I had my Solara with CD changer "error 1" caused the dealer to replace the unit. It was under warranty, however in your case with an 11 year old car I would start looking at aftermarket. Check out Crutchfield.com they show you all the options for your car and provide instructions and install kits.

    1999 Chevy S10 / 2004 Merc Grand Marquis / 2012 Buick LaCrosse

  • kjo2kjo2 Posts: 1
    2007 Avalon, screen shows as if it playing, but I get no sound out of any function. It will not load or eject any CD either. Changed the fuse. Anybody with any ideas? Anyone know where the wiring is from the radio to the speakers?
  • cwilliams56cwilliams56 Posts: 1
    edited March 2010
    I also have a 2000 Avalon XLS, JBL 6 disc, in dash. I have 1 cd stuck in there and have tried everything I know to get it out....no luck. When I push the load button, it now tells me it's FULL and it almost sounds like it's off a "cog" or something when I try to make it change discs, both forward and backward. any suggestions???

    and how the heck would I go about getting the CD player OUT of my dash???
  • xrulingxruling Posts: 4
    It worked fine for two years and then the FM became full of static, almost completely unusable. Toyota representatives can't/won't fix it and tell me that this is normal for this car! If they can't provide reliable or repair ancient FM radio technology, imagine how screwed-up other technology in this car may be.
  • I have a 2000 avalon with the jbl system. It seems when I am listening to fm some of the speakers cut out from time to time. This doesn't happen when I play my ipod through the cassette player. Any ideas?
  • I own Toyota Avalon 05 XLS, decided to install xm radio... I bought a sirius SCCI tuner. it comes with some wires... I saw SAT button, i pulled out head unit (radio) and i couldnt find any antenna outlets ... just nothing... What should i begin with??? I need interface? Please Help... Appreciate that. Thanks! :)
  • krkammakrkamma Posts: 1
    edited November 2010
    Hey all, 1st time to this forum, great information in hear from all!! Maybe you can help me. Just got a 03' Avalon XLS, although the JBL system in it is decent (I have a fairly good knowledge of stock and aftermarket sound), I find that it is a little strong on the highs and the lows aren't strong enough to balance it out. I guess I have 2 questions.
    1. Am contemplating either buying an i-pod direct hookup -OR- a double din aftermarket. Will either of these improve the sound quality through the stock JBL set up?
    2. And possibly the more difficult question... I have seen the mounting bracket for the double din application, I can not find ANYWHERE if someone makes a wood grain look. I really like the wood grain look of the dash and would like to keep the flow clean. Or.. If someone could provide a picture of what the standard black looks like installed I would really appreciate a view.

    Thank you in advance for any suggestions/guidance you can provide.
  • uknow79uknow79 Posts: 3
    The random button is on the radio i think it is labeled "rand" or "ran" mine also does this and i have the random disc on also but i think mine was doing this even without the random on so anyone have any ideas are welcomed.
  • uknow79uknow79 Posts: 3
    So i want to install a jbl 6 cd changer into a non jbl 06 avalon. I have a few questions though. Is there any difference speaker wise besides 9 spk to 12 spk setup? Is the amp for the jbl just for the the 3 extra speakers?
  • I have a 1997 Toyota Avalon XLS with the integrated amplifier audio system. I was replacing my factory stereo with a new one and must have crossed wires or something because neither the old stereo or new one will turn on. I checked all fuses and none are blown. Is there a fuse that could be blown in the factory amplifier??
  • rjk7rjk7 Posts: 1
    Player won't load or eject. Says CD error when trying to play a cd.
  • So is there a CD currently in the CD player? (Going by your "won't eject" comment.)

    Is the CD you're trying to load or play one that you burned yourself?

    Need help navigating? kirstie_h@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.

Sign In or Register to comment.