Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Avalon 2005+ Transmission Questions

Comments

• loliverloliver Posts: 2
    I wish that was it, but no I only have the key and the remote. That is all! I have tlked to other people in my town and they have had the same problem in their Toyota Tundra truck and a minivan. If anyone has any info I would greatly appreciate it.
  • camaddencamadden Posts: 8
    Gosh, yes I have 'cause I had heard that it worked for some people but not for me. My husband drove the vehicle all of last weekend (he rarely drives my car) and was surprised by the behavior. I just escalated my concern to Toyota corporate headquarters. They acknowledge that they have received hundreds of calls on this issue and to quote them "the transmission works in a way that most people are not accustomed to". "Accustomed to" ??? Give me a break. I've been driving for 25 years and have never experienced anything like this. Toyota is walking away from this issue; very disappointing. She suggested arbitration so that's where I'm headed. Thanks for your suggestion, though.
  • oregonoregon Posts: 9
    Just to confirm this TSB from Toyota - just bought a 2006 Avalon XLS with the same steering column noise. The service manager pulled the Steering TSB and we now have a new assembly on order to be installed. Problem?? Something about the tolerances being wrong and some units slipped thru Quality Control. I'm just happy it can be fixed. I thought I would have to live with it and just crank up the stereo!
  • wwestwwest Posts: 10,706
    Misery loves company...???

Take note that owners of the new AWD Lexus GS series seem to be reporting the same engine/transaxle hesitation/delay symptom as has existed in the ES and Camry since the 2002 model year.
  • chodiechodie Posts: 13