Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Toyota Avalon Navigation System

2456715

Comments

  • dandydon2dandydon2 Posts: 77
    Hi Topgear,

    Glad you're finding more to like about your Avi nav system, but you should be happy that the design will not let you program it while under way. That feature may very well save your life one day - or that of another motorist.

    Here's why: The National Highway Traffic Safety Assn. reports that "In-car technology like cell phones, mobile Internet access devices, road guidance and navigation systems (emphasis mine) are dangerous driver distractions that cause accidents. In practicality, anything that compels the driver to take his hands off the steering wheel or eyes off the road can be a dangerous distraction."

    Another authority in this area, David J. Hanson, Ph.D., states that "Using a cell phone while driving is at least as dangerous as driving while intoxicated." And if A=B and B=C, then A=C, ergo, nav systems can be just as dangerous as cells.

    Some argue that a front seat passenger would be able to work the nav system safely if allowed, but it would be practically impossible to prevent a driver from also getting into the act in a system designed that way.

    On the positive side, here are a couple of tips you might find useful for your next trip: Go to the DESTINATION screen and note the 6 switches at the bottom. The left one is for getting you Home, but the other 5 can be handy, too. We'll be meeting some friends for a short vacation in Portland in a few weeks. We have decided to visit several restaurants and points of interest while there, but I don't know the town very well so I've programmed 4 of the 5 buttons with the addresses of my POIs. The sixth one I set with our hotel's address, so I can always find my way back to the starting point.

    Hope some of this helps.

    Dandydon
  • melbcmelbc Posts: 31
    We also have the navigation system and the reason I have a problem with not being able to program it while the car is in motion is because I am usually in the front passenger seat when we are on extended car trips so I don't see why I cant program it..I am not driving so the safety issue would not be an issue at all...For this reason I wish that the passenger could overide the system somehow so that I could program it.
  • dandydon2dandydon2 Posts: 77
    Melbc:
    Allowing the passenger to program the nav while under way would remain a safety issue for the simple reason that there is no practical way to prevent a driver from also getting into the act.

    It's too late for both of us, since we already own the factory nav systems, but there is an excellent alternative for others. It's a system sold by VCom for under $1,000 and it operates entirely by voice input, so you or the driver can use it while driving. You can ask for a gas station, or a specific address, without ever having to touch buttons or look at a screen. The unit is portable and can be hidden under the dash or seat.

    Go to http://tinyurl.com/kp2py and click on "Video Demonstration". They claim it's the world's only navigation system with no screen or buttons. Their ad states: "It uses advanced voice recognition software that actually works. Once VCom knows where you want to go, simply drive and listen to VCom give you super detailed, turn by turn instructions until you reach your destination. Includes millions of Points of Interests and a voice interactive game of Black Jack."

    VCom is very similar to the new OnStar Turn-by-turn screenless nav system. I think that both are the wave of the future for car navigation.

    Dandydon
  • marunymaruny Posts: 1
    Can anyone tell me if the navigation screen will split into two screens automatically when you get near where you have to make a left or right turn and after you complete the turn it will go back to full screen. The new screen will show an enlarge map of your current position and the road that you will turn to. I think I so that in a Lexus car.
  • topgeartopgear Posts: 111
    I just wanted to post this thought. The navigation system should have a single, dedicated enter button instead of the tricky multi-function one. That would speed things up.
    So...Toyota, if you ever read any of the owner's comments here and there, I think this is a good one for you to consider!

    -P
  • b1gatorb1gator Posts: 12
    I have a 2005 Avalon with the DVD navigation System. I inquired with the dealer about the update CD for the Nav data base and I believe they told me the cost was about $200. Does this seem right and/or is there a better source for the updates? :confuse:
  • tstrick320tstrick320 Posts: 64
    YES!!! I'm planning to take my Avalon by the dealer and ask them to "show me how to input an address" so that they'll have to explain why this thing is almost impossible to use.

    This is my biggest (and just about only) gripe about this car. Everything else is near-perfection but the NAV controller drives me nuts. The NAV is great once the data has been entered but the cheesy controller design is awful.
  • ny_avalonny_avalon Posts: 3
    Are there By-pass options that will allow the Navigation to be used while the car is moving ?
  • boone6boone6 Posts: 8
    My NAV GPS system on my 2006 Avalon leaves a lot to be desired.
    I live in Houston and have set my home address in the memory. Recently while downtown I programmed it to take me home. This is a 20 mile trip on loop 610 and then highway 290. Basically a straight shot with no exits from the freeway. This goofy system has me exit at every 290 exit ramp, go south, then north on the next road, then back under the freeway and back on at the next entrance ramp. Then immediately get off at the next exit ramp and repeat the process. I have noticed it also does not have many roads in my area on it that were built or extended over three years ago. Those should be on the current software.

    Was recently on a vacation the western US. On the trip back I set it to take me home. I asked it for the quickest and the shortest route. It told me both were the same route. This was a 1600 mile trip from Salt Lake to Houston. I make the trip I was on yearly so knew what it was telling me was not quickest or shortest. There was no way to change it.
    The route it wanted me to take was over 200 miles out of the way. It did refigure every time I varied from the route it calculated but as far as being an efficient gps worth 2000 dollars it is not.

    I would suggest that if you are buying a new Avalon you forego the gps system that is an option. Buy something aftermarket that works.

    I read a column detailing the electronics on the Avalon and specifically the gps problems at www.gadgetguru.com. It is dead on to what I have experienced.
  • I plan on buying the avic z1 located here Avic Z1 photo and information here

    I was wondering was is there any way to install the avic z1, which again is a in-dash navigation system, into the avalon 06? Many tell me it may not be able to be done, so was just wondering is it possible? image
  • user777user777 Posts: 3,341
    looks like a slick unit!
    i tried downloading the installation manual but was waiting for eons. maybe they need to reboot their server and it will be faster later today.

    you can email their support:
    http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v3/pg/contact/us/0,,2076_310069585,00.html-

    or call them:
    800 421 1404
  • motownusamotownusa Posts: 836
    Make sure you hire a pro to do something of this magnitude. That Navigation system looks awesome.
  • niteoneniteone Posts: 41
    I called a Car Audio place near me which has this in stock and they said it'll even fit a Toyota Avalon that has the NAV system in it....they'll just have to use a different interface to the head unit....

    but, a couple questions....how will you control the air, etc if you put that in over what you have there?

    I mean the new system will control the audio, nav, bluetooth, but how will you control the other funtions that the screen you already have displays, like air, etc.?
  • ">Thanks user777, I just e-mailed them. Yeah, the site is often busy. Watch the video clips of the avic z1 its outstanding too. You have to click "guidance" etc.. Hey niteone I know you can get the pac swi and retain your steering wheel controls, but ask at www.avic411.com and they may be able to answer your question better. But your sure it can fit in the avalon 06? Thats great news, thanks again for the replies.

    Crutchfield has good information on the z1 too Crutchfield Avic z1
  • niteoneniteone Posts: 41
    the guy at the Audio place said they could do it....I'm just wondering about all the other stuff the original screen gives you...like air control, etc....and, if you have the NAV like I do, there's a lot more stuff on it like maintenance, calander, dealer info, etc....I would think that you would lose all that stuff.
  • Oh okay I see, you may want to call the shop and ask them is there any utility you can buy so you can retain those features and any other features. The air control is on the navigation system or on that little blue screen? Yeah you need to ask them about keeping those features if you want to, and see what they say.
  • bobwileybobwiley Posts: 241
    jrjhm: Test drove the ES330---GREAT Nav System--thought the Avalon would be the same!! Anyway, the Avy has more room and smoother ride--interior materials as good as Lexus. Think about buying an after marrket GPS--Garmin makes a great one for $800-$00----I looked at the pricing for the ES330---Big $$$$$ compared to the Avalon. Also, the ES350's wheelbase is 2' less and yet it weighs 1,000 lbs more---same motor---can't see how it can get same MPG? Put an "L" on the Avy---you've got a Lexus!!!
    Bob
  • captain2captain2 Posts: 3,971
    huh? the Avalon Limited 3600, 20 lbs more the ES. Sure, the FE will be comparable! Look it up, but if the ES really weighed 4600 lbs. it would be a real slug by comparison in power and economy...
  • jrjhmjrjhm Posts: 26
    I understand you have to download maps into the portables if your going out of your area. Not something I would be happy with. I think the Lucerne has the right idea. No screen, just live directions. Unfortunately it's kind of bland and gets lousy gas mileage. Now you've got me re thinking things.
  • jrjhmjrjhm Posts: 26
    The ES 350 curb weight is 3580.
  • bobwileybobwiley Posts: 241
    Sorry--my bad!!!!
  • What is it with Toyota?? If the navigation system really IS an embarrassing piece of trash, non user-friendly, etc., etc., ad nauseam, why is the same cheap stuff STILL showing up, even in the 2007 models? Did Toyota's bean-counters find this thing at a fire sale, foisted on them by a manufacturer who was unable to move it to a more respectable, responsible auto producer who actually CARES about its reputation AND its customers? Is it rocket science to look at the competition that has a superior system, approach its supplier, and say , "Build some of those things for us, too" ? The arrogance with which this corporation treats us is appalling, and the quirky transmission is the prime example of that!
  • jrjhmjrjhm Posts: 26
    I read in the manual that you have to have an accessory position to install this system.
  • jrjhmjrjhm Posts: 26
    Crutchfield says it will not fit the Avalon.

    pageRate this pageEmail this page
    Home » Car Audio & Video » Video » In-dash DVD Players » Pioneer AVIC-Z1

    Pioneer AVIC-Z1
    In-dash DVD player/navigation system with 30GB hard drive and 7" video screen
    Bluetooth®-ready
    Item #130AVICZ1

    In Stock

    $2,249.99

    Save to Wishlist

    Get 3 free months of XM NavTraffic & XM Radio
    No payments, No interest for 6 months







    See more photos and videos





    8 people say:


    My 2006 Avalon
    This item does not fit
  • abfischabfisch Posts: 591
    How much did you pay for this device??? Was it part of a package??/ Not being funny. Trying to determine how much they are making on this silly item.

    abfisch
  • bobwileybobwiley Posts: 241
    abfisch: It is a $1,900 option--it also includes the JBL 12 speaker 6 CD System--it is a JOKE--read what www.gadgetguru.com says---he is RIGHT ON the mark. I've emailed and spoken to him on the phone--great insight!!
    Bob
  • nimiminimimi Posts: 249
    You get the same JBL system with the Limited WITHOUT having to spend $1900 on the nav.
  • bobwileybobwiley Posts: 241
    My bad--it just shows the JBL on the Oprion Pkg--guess they want ya to think ya got a better deal-=-especially since the Nav System is a JOKE!
    Bob
Sign In or Register to comment.