Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hyundai Sonata Brakes

Comments

• haidonghaidong Posts: 16
    I need to fill the complain in NHTSA, did not do it last year.
  • duvey85duvey85 Posts: 1
    How tough is it to replace rear brakes in the '08 Sonota..I have replaced them in a couple of VW's I have had without much adoo, and my Supra without much trouble..Will it be about the same? Thanks Bob...
  • ualamtualamt Posts: 4
    edited April 2010
    It should be like replacing front disc brakes. Need large clamp, about 5". Support the brake flexible hose at removal of brake pads. About 45 minute job to do both rear brakes from jacking car up to finish, but I'm an aircraft mechanic. Take your time do it right because you will be riding in it. Watch your brake reservoir in engine compartment of being overflow with new pads installed, if so sump it out from top before overflow.

Tom
  • adlucemadlucem Posts: 3
    Just took my 2010 Sonata in for a 24,000 km check and was told I need new rear brake pads! Couldn't believe it. I have driven cars for 50 + years in Ontario, Canada and have never had to replace brake pads, rotors or the like until at least 60,000 km and frequently beyond 80,000 km. They said it was dirt that wore it down from winter driving - all on pavement. Obviously this is a design flaw in the vehicle or the pads itself. Hyundai seems to think I should pay $200 for a complete brake cleaning every year - ridiculous. Never had to do it on Honda, Chevrolet, Ford, VW or Volvo and brakes lasted long on all those cars.