Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Ford Focus Transmission Problems

Comments

• tread7081tread7081 Posts: 14
    Local shop has a few new transmissions. $1250 installed. 24month/24k mile warranty. I took it. Glad I did. I see the rebuild price.
  • dno36dno36 Posts: 71
    Now, I am not a mechanic, however, I play one on TV...LOL.

Seriously, while not being positive, I do not believe that the bands could rub on the solenoids, as I believe they are not in close contact at all. How could 1 band rub on all the solenoids??

Yes I have heard of bands breaking before, and there are a number of reasons one could break, but from rubbing on the solenoids??
  • car was jumping when going up hills thought conver was bad added a additive 2 days later have no overdrive 1st and 2nd and reverse works great but when it shifts from drive to overdrive it kicks out of gear i replaced the shift solenoid and trans fluid worked for about 10 miles and guess what no overdrive again i cleaned the filter and eveything i really need some help this is crazy would wrong trans fluid or a bad filter cause this
    I ended up just replacing my trans for $1250 (brand new installed). Solenoid "A" and "E" are the ones known to go bad.
  • dno36dno36 Posts: 71
    Did you get it scanned??
  • rcjetnrcjetn Posts: 1
    The dealer admits there is a slip from 2-3 when starting out cold, but says there is nothing to be done, that this is "inherent to this transmission model" and considers it to be a "normal characteristic of vehicle". 5 yr powertrain warranty runs out in less than a year. Don't know what to do, other than wait for the transmission to fail completely. AZ lemon law apparently will not help. Is there something I should be doing now?

TIA

Jack
    edited April 2011