Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Chrysler 300M: Audio

Comments

• cgrecucgrecu Posts: 1
    Hi everybody,

a few months ago my cd changer (4 disc) stopped working, not sure what happened, but it looks like a disc got stucked or something, because when I press eject it tries for a while and then displays an error message and moves to the next disc and so on.

I'd like to replace the cd changer, somebody told me that unless I use a factory model I will lose the on-wheel controls and I will only be able to control the new stereo via its own knobs, not sure if that's true?

And, since I'm at the subject, I'd like to be able to plug my iPod to the car stereo, is there any way I could do that? I've read on this forum that the 6-disc model has an aux port - that should do the trick, but is it compatible with my 2001 300M?

Also, how easy is to replace the cd-changer, I have little experience with this stuff, but I'd hate to go to a dealer and get charged $1000 or smth like this when I could buy everything I need off ebay and do it myself.
  • tayl0rdtayl0rd Posts: 1,938
    If you're going to replace it with a factory CD changer (which might not be necessary), it's easy as pie. Pop off the console cover and take out the two screws holding the CD player in place. Pull it out, unplug it, grab the new one and reverse the steps.

Yes, you will lose the use of the steering wheel buttons with an aftermarket stereo.

There is an adaptor you can buy to hook up to the factory radio that allows you to plug in MP3 players. I can't remember the company that makes it though, sorry. Do a google search or go to the 300M club website forums and search the Audio Upgrades threads.
  • redyredy Posts: 1