Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Jeep Wrangler Tires and Wheels

Comments

• jeepgurljeepgurl Posts: 3
    I'm a newbie to four wheeling and I need an answer to a question about tires. I have a 2006 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited that came from the factory with LT245/75R16 tires 30x9.5
    I want to beef it up a little and put bigger tires on it. I was thinking going maybe 32's or 33's do I need to lift my Jeep for tires that big? I have Dana 44 heavy-duty front and rear axles if that matters. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  • mac24mac24 Posts: 3,910
    For 33's you'll need a 3" lift. A 2" suspension plus a 1" body is the usual way to go. 31"x10.5" is the max otherwise.
    Thanks for the response. Do you know of any good web sites that might have some decent literature on lift kits?
  • erickplerickpl Posts: 2,735
    Your best bet is to check out the various jeep forums out there.

Many love the OME (Mac24, tsjay, and I all have it) for its onroad ride (many say better than stock, I agree), and it's nice flexing capabilities offroad. It is pricier, but with lifts, you often get what you pay for.

Rubicon Express is another good one. I've also heard many good comments about Rusty's Offroad (located here in AL) having a nice ride and flex.

Keep in mind, if you go bigger than 3-4", you have to worry about other issues (drivelines, steering geometry, etc), so a 2-3" suspension lift with a 1" body lift will be a GREAT way to get that Rubicon up in a decent manner.

-Paul
  • karlw90karlw90 Posts: 59
    Jeepgurl, great timing. I was browsing the Jeep forums just for the question you had!
    I have a Jeep Unlimited and also want to "beef" it up. I was also considering 33" tires.
    A few more questions:
    - Why a 2" suspension lift and 1" body? Why not just a 3" suspension?
    - Any issues with driving at higher speeds (60-70mph) with a lift like this?