Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Lexus LS 400/LS 430 Navigation System

245

Comments

  • I vaguely recall the first time I got a car with a navigation system there was a polite little note saying if you discover any errors in the map please notify us at such-and-such address. Does any one know where we are supposed to send info updates on the current nav system?

    I was looking for an address on Sandalwood Lane and the nav said no such street. When I found it by driving around and reading street signs, I pressed the Map button to see what the nav thought that street was called, and it displayed it as "Sandlewood Lane". I'd like to report that typo so they can correct it and save the next lost guy a little time. But to whom do I report it?
  • mmm1mmm1 Posts: 54
    I have been following your discussion on updating the nav system. I have an 03 LS 430 with DVD version 2,1 that I want to update. From your discussion sounds like a rather simple process but I am concerned about being able to override the system if I install the latest version of the DVD. With the current version I can use the override procedure and do anything while the car is moving that I can do when it is not moving. Do you know if the new DVD will still allow me to do this? Seems like it is a hardware issue and should not have any effect on the overide. Also, as I recall the system in the '03 has something like 500,000 POIs whereas the system in my 05 RX has 5 million. Have you noticed a huge increase in the number of POIs with your updated DVD? Thanks for any input you may have on this. Happy Thanksgiving.
  • mmm1mmm1 Posts: 54
    For rennybosch---Sorry to waste your time with my last post. Just went back to some previous posts and saw the answer to my override question. Should have done that first obviously.
  • No problem. Thanks for posting back, many people wouldn't have bothered. And Happy Thanksgiving to you too.
  • abodabod Posts: 1
    I have a 01 LS 430 and I'm stationed in the middle east, saudi arabia ,where can I get the navi DVD for this area? any place on the internet!!
  • I have a 2002 LS 430 and received a notice from my Lexus Dealer stating that my models navigation system was being removed phased out and that they have a $900 credit available for me on a new vehicle. Now I hear about this forum and there is a probable replacement DVD version available. I like this feature (NAVIGATION) and don't want to replace my current vehicle in order to continue to enjoy the same. If there is an updated version please supply detailed information so that I may obtain same.
    Thanking you in advance.....
  • oacoac Posts: 1,594
    I just installed the new Nav DVD. After MitchellRowe's report that the '08 LS460 no longer asks the driver to agree to drive safely before allowing him to use the Nav system, I was hoping the new DVD (on my '04 LS430) would do likewise, but unfortunately it still has the old Caution screen where I have to touch "I agree".

    I have the v 7.1 DVD Nav in my 2008 Camry Hybrid, and the "I Agree" button is gone! :) The screen will even switch from audio to Nav on its own.... I am quite happy with these changes on the latest version, and was planning to upgrade the Sept 2006 release I had on my 2003 LX470. However, if the new release does not permit these features I have on my 2008 TCH when upgrading, then I'll just stick to my current version.
  • please tell me what is the correct version of the DVD nav system update for the Lexus LS 430 2003 and did it work for you?
    Thanks,
    E Durbin

    edurbin@comcast.net
  • What I got from Lexus-Parts.com was:

    Product #:PT219-GEN2345-07, 2007 DVD Navigation System Update Data Ver 07.01 (size: Generation 4).

    It worked perfectly in my '04 LS430, but I think the '03 would probably be Generation 3. You should be able to find that out on their website (Lexus-Parts.com).

    Good luck.
  • Renny,
    Thanks for really useful info.
    I have an LS430 (2005) and need the update PT219-GEN04-071 from version 4.02.
    Do you know if the update procedure works for my model?
    It seems very easy!
    Trev
  • rennyboschrennybosch Posts: 329
    The 05 LS is so similar to the 04 that the update procedure must surely be the same. But don't sue me if I'm wrong :-)
  • jerry5505jerry5505 Posts: 13
    I received a card in the mail which informed me the new map update is available from the Lexus dealer for only $265 MSRP which I think thats to expensive for the times I use it. Is there a charge from the dealer for installing it?
  • rgswrgsw Posts: 333
    The card has an * (asterisk) indicating there is an installation fee. My dealer indicates it will cost $110 for install.
  • 49er49er Posts: 4
    The buttons on the lcd panel fade and are inactive when I try to enter address data even though the "GPS" indicator is on both before and after trying. The map works but only "home" and the last five locations can be selected to get route data.

    Any ideas? Thanks.
  • rennyboschrennybosch Posts: 329
    You have to be stopped to enter address data.
  • 49er49er Posts: 4
    To: rennybosch. I understand I have to be stopped and in Park or Neutral. That is when the condition occurs. I travelled to San Diego this week and found the system works sometimes here, but it did not work in AZ, including Phoenix. Perhaps there is a satellite problem.
  • rgswrgsw Posts: 333
    Did you select Mountain Area vs. the West coast area. You have to select the area of the US that you are in.
  • 49er49er Posts: 4
    Thanks for the response. Yes, the problem occurs when the correct region is selected. Also, when the problem occurs, I cannot "change" the region.
  • edurbinedurbin Posts: 5
    Lexus 430LS 2003 with latest map installed. Is there a way to disable the interlock that prevents the destination from being selected while driving?
    Is there a way to eliminate the legal waiver screen when starting?

    Ed
  • abargerabarger Posts: 3
    We bought an off market 7.1 update for our 2002 Lexus SC430 and it loaded with no problems and was working, but 5 minutes later, it's showing disc not found. Does anyone know what might be causing this? I feel like there must be some kind of setting conflict or something. Any ideas?
Sign In or Register to comment.