Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!





Forums Software - Updates and Reporting Issues

13»

Comments

  • imidazol97imidazol97 Crossroads of America: I70 & I75Posts: 18,461

    I sometimes answer one of the questions in the Unanswered groups. I note that if I answer the question leaves that group. Can there be some way to leave a question there until the poster marks it answered or a certain numbers of days has elapsed?

    I gave an answer for what I suspect is an internal vacuum leak on a Dodge. But I don't feel that I gave a solid answer and someone with Dodge experience may know more. But the question left the group now so Dodge or someone with knowledge may not see that question about a whine from the engine.

    One the other hand there's been a question about the size of crank bearings on a toyota in the group for weeks. There should be a way for unanswered questions to "time out."

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030

    @imidazol97 said: I sometimes answer one of the questions in the Unanswered groups. I note that if I answer the question leaves that group. Can there be some way to leave a question there until the poster marks it answered or a certain numbers of days has elapsed?

    I gave an answer for what I suspect is an internal vacuum leak on a Dodge. But I don't feel that I gave a solid answer and someone with Dodge experience may know more. But the question left the group now so Dodge or someone with knowledge may not see that question about a whine from the engine.

    One the other hand there's been a question about the size of crank bearings on a toyota in the group for weeks. There should be a way for unanswered questions to "time out."

    I'll check into it. One thing I can do is change that topic from a Question to a Discussion. That way it all "comments" being added and not "answers."

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • KCRamKCRam Mt. Arlington NJPosts: 3,516
    edited May 25

    @imidazol97 said:

    Here's the one you answered. The other fast way to keep track of it is to bookmark it when you respond by activating the yellow star at the opening post. http://forums.edmunds.com/discussion/18187/dodge/ram-pickup-1500/under-hood-noise-sounds-like-a-bad-alternator-bearing-but-its-not-dodge-ram-1500#latest

  • corvettecorvette United StatesPosts: 4,196
    edited July 31

    Is there a way to make the "Prices Paid and Buying Experiences" subforum display its subjects in alphabetical order, as we could on the old forum software? I realize there are a lot of makes and models there, but search does not always return what I'm looking for. E.g., it's not clear whether one should search for "Ford F-150 Prices Paid" or "Ford F-series Prices Paid," but if they're in alphabetical order by make, it's easy to find. "2014 Ram prices paid" returns nothing relevant other than a lease discussion.

    Very difficult to navigate when the topics are shown in order of most recent activity.

  • steverstever Viva Las CrucesPosts: 41,607
    edited July 31

    That'd be nice but we haven't figured out how to do something like that. You can go to the Car Forums link up top and Browse Forums by Make/Model but the default sort is by recent activity.

    For example - Ford F-150, Ram 1500.

    Moderator
    Minivan fan. Feel free to message or email me - stever@edmunds.com.

  • suydamsuydam Posts: 1,016

    All of a sudden the Forums site has stopped "remembering" me so I have to log in every time. Anyone else having this problem?

  • steverstever Viva Las CrucesPosts: 41,607
    edited August 18

    Haven't heard anything - try clearing your browser cache or reboot your computer.

    Anyone else?

    Moderator
    Minivan fan. Feel free to message or email me - stever@edmunds.com.

  • stickguystickguy Posts: 15,441

    I started having the problem recently on my iPad.

    But also on another site they never used to log me out. PC is fine, so I think it is an iPad issue for me,

    2015 Hyundai Sonata 2.4i Limited Tech (mine), 2013 Acura RDX (wife's) and 2007 Volvo S40 (daughters college car)

  • suydamsuydam Posts: 1,016

    I discovered the problem. There's a little bar at the bottom of the ipad marked Private. If you hit it inadvertently it locks password-pages. Un click it and passwords are "remembered" again.

  • steverstever Viva Las CrucesPosts: 41,607

    Heh, that's one my wife has never heard of (she's on her second iPad). Thanks for the tip.

    Moderator
    Minivan fan. Feel free to message or email me - stever@edmunds.com.

  • stickguystickguy Posts: 15,441

    @suydam said: I discovered the problem. There's a little bar at the bottom of the ipad marked Private. If you hit it inadvertently it locks password-pages. Un click it and passwords are "remembered" again.

    I actually found an dun clicked that. Maybe I need to do it on every site?

    2015 Hyundai Sonata 2.4i Limited Tech (mine), 2013 Acura RDX (wife's) and 2007 Volvo S40 (daughters college car)

  • suydamsuydam Posts: 1,016

    It just has to be unclicked on one I think. I've had my ipad for 5 years and never seen this before!

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030

    @suydam said: It just has to be unclicked on one I think. I've had my ipad for 5 years and never seen this before!

    Okay, you made me look. I have a 1st gen Ipad and I'm not seeing this "Private" button.

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • suydamsuydam Posts: 1,016

    I have ipad 2.

  • ClairesClaires Chicago areaPosts: 979
    edited August 21

    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    @Karen_CM said: Okay, you made me look. I have a 1st gen Ipad and I'm not seeing this "Private" button.

    MODERATOR
    Need help getting around? claires@edmunds.com - or send a private message by clicking on my name.

  • stickguystickguy Posts: 15,441

    after I turned off Private, I rebooted the ipad, and it seems to have cured the problem. Big pain having to remember, and reenter, PWs all the time!

    2015 Hyundai Sonata 2.4i Limited Tech (mine), 2013 Acura RDX (wife's) and 2007 Volvo S40 (daughters college car)

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030

    @Claires said: It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030
    Karen_CM said:

    @Claires said:
    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!


    Just checking. We may have fixed the annoying quote issue.

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030
    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    @Claires said:
    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Just checking. We may have fixed the annoying quote issue.



    And checking again.

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030
    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    @Claires said:
    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Just checking. We may have fixed the annoying quote issue.

    And checking again.



    ONE MORE TIME!!!!!

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • Karen_CMKaren_CM Posts: 5,030
    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    @Claires said:
    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Just checking. We may have fixed the annoying quote issue.

    And checking again.

    ONE MORE TIME!!!!!

    Would appreciate everyone's thoughts about this.

    Community Manager If you have any questions or concerns about the Forums, send me an email, karen@edmunds.com, or click on my screen name to send a personal message.

  • ray80ray80 Posts: 1,303
    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    @Claires said:
    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Just checking. We may have fixed the annoying quote issue.

    And checking again.

    ONE MORE TIME!!!!!
    Would appreciate everyone's thoughts about this.

    Appears to work

  • steverstever Viva Las CrucesPosts: 41,607
    edited September 11
    ray80 said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    Karen_CM said:

    @Claires said:
    It's not on the browser itself, but Safari can be set to private in iPad 1's settings. It turns the tabs an ugly black so you'd notice it if it was set.

    Thanks for the tip!

    Just checking. We may have fixed the annoying quote issue.

    And checking again.

    ONE MORE TIME!!!!!
    Would appreciate everyone's thoughts about this.
    Appears to work



    Testing "deep" nesting.
    [Hm, you'd think "Appears to work" would have stayed in the quote box. Still an improvement]

    Moderator
    Minivan fan. Feel free to message or email me - stever@edmunds.com.

  • imidazol97imidazol97 Crossroads of America: I70 & I75Posts: 18,461
    edited November 24
    I'm having error messages on my Win XP laptop and am not able to log into the forums for long periods and then I may be able to get in with one of the browsers.

    In Firefox I get Http status 500 - an exception occurred processing JSP page/global/redesign_head_part2.jsp at line 3 and a page full of Apache error text. Other times I use the Forums pulldown on Edmunds.com and get a big Whoops!, your sso timed out during the request.


    In IE8 I get the howdy stranger page but get a normal page with a message saying we're having difficulty please come back later. And then later I am able to sign in to my bookmarked pages.

    If I use my Win 7 laptop, everything is fine.
  • steverstever Viva Las CrucesPosts: 41,607
    @Ray80 had issues Saturday but they were short-lived and we had no other reports. Then it happened to me Sunday, and we were finally able to reproduce it. A ticket has been submitted.

    XP eh? Living dangerously. :)

    Moderator
    Minivan fan. Feel free to message or email me - stever@edmunds.com.

  • ray80ray80 Posts: 1,303
    stever said:

    @Ray80 had issues Saturday but they were short-lived and we had no other reports. Then it happened to me Sunday, and we were finally able to reproduce it. A ticket has been submitted.

    XP eh? Living dangerously. :)

    Yes I did see login issues that (unbeknownest to Steve and others) repeated after the first occurrance somewhat later in the day.

    And yes indeed on the XP thing, Somehow or other I managed really break my 2 XP machines shortly before support ended. They were pretty old anyway so both have been replaced.
  • steverstever Viva Las CrucesPosts: 41,607
    I have a heavy old spare laptop around here I keep meaning to put Windows 10 beta on but haven't gotten around to it. Maybe that'll break it and I can dump it. B)

    Moderator
    Minivan fan. Feel free to message or email me - stever@edmunds.com.

13»
Sign In or Register to comment.