Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

XV Crosstrek leasing question

loki8481loki8481 Posts: 1

sorry if this is a total newbie question, I've never actually bought a car before! (the previous 2 that I've owned have all been hand-me-downs from family members)

I'm thinking of leasing an XV Crosstrek (either Limited or Hybrid) but I can't seem to get a good handle on what I should be expecting to pay for the lease. is under-$300/month a reasonable expectation? just comparing it to the manufacturer lease offer for the standard model at $249/month.

part of me hates the thought of leasing a 2014 just months before the 2015's come out, but I've got an offer from a friend to buy my current car that expires in August (he needs a car before the new school year). I've got about $7500 socked away for a down payment plus the $2500 cash from selling my car, but if I lease instead of buy I can preserve most of that cash and put it into my house down-payment fund (my partner and I are hoping to buy in the next 3-4 years once we get about $25k saved up)

for what it's worth, I'm in NJ and my credit is pretty stellar.

Comments

• kyfdxkyfdx Posts: 29,371

@loki8481 said: sorry if this is a total newbie question, I've never actually bought a car before! (the previous 2 that I've owned have all been hand-me-downs from family members)

I'm thinking of leasing an XV Crosstrek (either Limited or Hybrid) but I can't seem to get a good handle on what I should be expecting to pay for the lease. is under-$300/month a reasonable expectation? just comparing it to the manufacturer lease offer for the standard model at $249/month.