Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Cheap repairs we made when we were young and broke.

Comments

• bort1bort1 Posts: 13
    No idea, but cars, semis, and hunting seasons tend to keep the population of deer in check in Iowa, so I doubt if there was a huge problem. Never thought that deer were smart enough to read the signs anyway;)
  • aka duct tape to cover up all those scrapes and boo boos on your bumpers
  • egkelly1egkelly1 Posts: 30
    I had a 1984 Caddy Sedan deVille, which I loved. It had a problem with the blower control (solid stae)-the giant DELCO power transistor that drove the fan motor crapped out. A new control module (dealer said the existng one was unrepairable)was over $600.00! Being a good engineer, I shorted the transistor, and ran a bypass ling to a good heavy duty swotch on the dash! This ran grat, and the repar cost me exactly $1.35!
  • dgraves1dgraves1 Posts: 414
    The gum wrapper around the fuse trick in another topic reminded me of another one I pulled. One night driving home from work my headlights went out. I found that the fuse had blown so I stole the high beam fuse and made my way home. Of course, I promptly forgot about it. I live in Southern California and rarely have occasion to use high beams. Many months later while traveling at fairly high speed on a mountain road, I decided I needed the brights. Flicked the switch and WHAM - Total darkness. Of course I switched back to lows and slowed down quickly but my heartrate was over redline for quite a while.
  • jresjres Posts: 69