Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Wish list for Next Gen Tacoma - what would you improve

Comments

• beantacobeantaco Posts: 12
    My local toyota dealer says there is nothing new for the 2002 tacoma, has anyone heard otherwise?
  • got1bgot1b Posts: 48
    I'm not technically smart, but I've test driven a lot of four doors, and probably have seen them earlier then most (Haiti, 93). Here is my dream:

1. I like the Dakota's size and power ( to bad that won't make them well). Not to small, nor do I feel like I'm driving a tank down the road, especially in the city. So, I'd say increase the size a little and add an 8 cylinder option with the towing ability to go with it.

2. Mid-gate's are the future. Chevy has it, Subaru will have it in a year or two and I believe VW has something in the works. I'd also make it with an electric slider.

3. A built in cargo bed liner and hard taneau cover are good. I especially like Sport-Tracks with the tie down points. Practical if carrying a lot of gear for the outdoors.

4. If the 8 cylinder does not happen, I'd go with a Supercharger package. Nissan has it, and from what I can see, Toyota's is much better.

All with Toyota's quality and ruggedness.

That's my two cents worth.
  • rshollandrsholland Posts: 19,652
    1. Offer IRS. If anybody can make a truck with IRS, Toyota can—and I'm sure it can be made to tow. The IRS-equipped Mercedes ML and BMW X5 currently match or exceed the current live-axle Tacoma as far as towing is concerned.

2. Offer a 5-speed automatic.

3. Offer a triple-range full-time 4WD transfer case, with shift-on-the-fly capability between High, Medium and Low ranges. High range would be for normal driving. Middle range would be for towing or heavy loads, and moderate off-road use. Low range would be for the most difficult situations.

4. Offer a fold-out and drop-down tailgate that could be used as a loading ramp for motorcycles, etc.