Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2013 and earlier-Honda Accord Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• dolfan1dolfan1 Posts: 216
    There's a lot of truth to this. I don't know how many times, over the last 25 years, I've gone to a place like Sun Tire for an oil change and drive out with new brakes, water pump, whatever. I'm not a mechanic and for the most part are at their mercy.

My brother drives an large, older Buick and swears by taking it to the dealer instead of these other places because they'll only do the maintenance he asked for in the first place.
  • w_byrnesw_byrnes Posts: 15
    I would suggest you first negotiate down the new SE price without mentioning your trade-in. Don’t visit the dealer personally – communicate with their internet manager through emails. The posts from members here who previously purchased a SE would give you some idea on what is a good price. You can email all the dealership within 100 miles radius. You are not going to these distant dealers but use them as your leverage and reference.

After you have got a good price on the new car, you can start to pay physical visits the dealers. Your 2002 LX should have a very good resell value. The dealer will make money both ways, a lot of money. You should be able to stick with the trade in price from Edmunds or KBB. I also traded in my Camry 04 LE when I got my EX-L. The first several dealers only would offer 11000 at the most. The last one offered 12800 and they earned my business. BTW, they are selling this car at $14995 as an internet special.

You need some patience especially when there is a trade-in involved. The salesperson has a lot of skills to talk you into there price scheme. They are real professionals.
  • isellhondasisellhondas Issaquah WashingtonPosts: 17,679
    Well, we can usually smell a "hidden trade".