Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2013 and earlier-Honda Accord Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• Hi,

I have been shopping for a 2013 EX CVT for a few months now but want to get some confirmation on a realistic target price. Best I was quoted last month seemed ok but not great - $800 below invoice + $500 flex ($130 doc fee). My thinking on a good deal is at least $1000 below invoice + $500 flex. Is that still attainable? I'll most likely be buying in PA/NJ (Philly metro).

Thanks-
    Hank
  • time2timetime2time Posts: 4
    Brian,
    Sorry. I reworked my list as below. Destination should be $790.
    Numbers are rounded up to integer.
    Error is within $10.
    Paint coating is optional. I asked them to add it.
    Doc fee should be the dealer's margin source.
    I am on East coast.
    I don't want to reveal state and dealer's name to protect both sides.
    My buying strategy is based on your theory. (Thank you!)
    I believe the dealer still had good margin in this deal.

Base price: 22190 (includes wheel lock, mud guard, destination $790.)
    Paint coating (7 year warranty. similiar to Cilajet coating): 530
    Doc fee: 500
    Tax 4%: 23220 x 4% =~ 929
    Dealer tax: 40
    License fee: 70
    Flex cash: -500

OTD: 23759 (0.9 Honda financing.)
  • time2timetime2time Posts: 4
    Okay. I have zero knowledge in sales industry.
    My theory below is just a guess.
    Don't blame me if I am wrong.

My theory is this.
    We should always buy a car from a top salesperson.
    Why?
    I am guessing there is a bonus system behind them.
    Say, if a dealership rewards a big bonus to whoever sells 10 cars in a month, and this salesperson already sold 9 cars, won't he give you a good deal so he can get his bonus?