Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2013 and Earlier - Hyundai Sonata Prices Paid and Buying Experience

Comments

• I am new to the forum and the whole car buying experience.
    I am looking to buy my first car.
    I graduated 2 years ago so I will not get the new graduate credit. I do not own Hyundai so I will not qualify for that credit as well.
    I want to make offers to dealerships this weekend and close the deal by Christmas.

I have couple of questions.
    Will dealerships have Christmas specials or incentives to meet yearly goals at end of December? Should I wait for last week of December?

I was also told if I go into dealership on a day when no one is around (snow storm or other holidays when people are unlikely to visit) I am more likely to get a better deal. Is that correct? Should I try to go in on a weekday or a less crowded day?

Could you guys tell me if the following offer is reasonable for GLS with Pop?
    Should I offer 19000 before taxes?

Invoice: $21540
    Holdback (-3%): -646
    Rebates: -$2000
    Offer price: 18893

Description Invoice MSRP
    Base Price $20,105 $20,995
    Midnight Black $0 $0
    PEP $660 $725
    Destination Fee $775 $775

Total Price $21,540 $22,495
  • saz25saz25 Posts: 152
    Yes $19000 is exactly what you should off. The only addition amounts are state taxes, no dealer documentation fees.

Don't explain how you arrived at that price and don't get into the legacy or student discount stuff. They may want you to finance a minimum amount in order to get to this low price. If so, I suggest agreeing but pay it off within days unless, of course, you want a loan.

With these numbers I doubt if Christmas sales will make a difference price wise. The closer to end of month the better.

Tell them you will call other dealers. I would do the negotiating on the phone. Less pressure and stress for you.

Good luck
    Steve
  • Thank you very much.