Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Tundra Owners - Meet the Members

Comments

• bryanembryanem Posts: 3
    Hello, after reading 100's of posts, still having
    a hard time trying to evaluate the ride of TRD vs Non TRD. I have been unable to find a dealer with
    a D cab in stock without TRD so I can test drive
    for comparative purposes.

The TRD's I haven driven seem a bit bumpy and stiff, but other posts say non TRD's feel mushy and bouncy.

Is the TRD truck just a bouncier and stiff truck,
    or is this due to the TRD? (I am new to Toyota trucks)

Bottom line, would appreciate some guidance
    as to the pavement ride characteristics from someone who has driven both TRD and Non TRD 4WD Tacomas.

Thanks.
  • tundradudetundradude Posts: 588
    I now have a Tundra SR5 V8 4X2. I traded my V6 Tundra in for it on 12-31-01. I enjoy having the back seat, but I comprised with now having the short bed.

It came with the following options:
    Captains Chairs
    CD Cassette
    Convenience Package w/Keyless Entry
    Fog Lights
    Bedliner

The things I transferred from other Tundra:
    Hitch
    7-plug wiring harness

My truck history:
    72 Landcruiser I-6 3-speed Manual
    93 Truck Regular Cab Standard Model 5-speed
    94 T100 Regular Cab Standard Model 5-speed
    00 Tundra Regular Cab V6 5 speed
    02 Tundra SR5 V8 4X2 Automatic
  • sc0rpi0sc0rpi0 Posts: 897
    As far as suspension goes, the only difference between TRD and non-TRD is the Bilstein shocks. The ride is supposed to be stiff: I have absolutely no desire to bottom out and hit the skid plates on rocks when I am offroading.
    I don't remember how non-TRD felt when I testdrove it. But my TRD feels great on highway.
  • paul_ppaul_p Posts: 271