Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Truck Owners: Problems & Solutions

Comments

• suvshopper4suvshopper4 Posts: 1,110
    That rig got U-joints?
    If so, have you checked them out?
  • ted77ted77 Posts: 3
    It does have ujoints in the front, could it be the wheel barings as well or is it more likely to be the u-joints?
  • suvshopper4suvshopper4 Posts: 1,110
    I'm no doctor, but...

I'd see if there is play in the U-joint. Grip tight and twist things, see if there is any play at all (there shouldn't be). And if there is a grease nipple, shoot some grease into it, and see if that affects things.

My experience is that wheel bearing problems show up first at low speeds, especially while turning. Yours doesn't do that, if I read you right. And once they show up, it isn't long before things seize up.
  • prookprook Posts: 1
    I have a tacoma 96' v6 4x4. My light came on also and the truck ran fine. I also have a friend that works at Firestone as a mechanic. He checked it and said it was probably the O2 sensor and reset my computer on the truck. I have not fixed it yet but my engine light came back on after a short time. Hope that helped. Sorry it wasn't more information for you. Let me know what you did. Phil
  • Fuel filter location and removal hints:
    Look in the back passenger side wheel well.
    It's often just behind the frame in a small bracket.
    Pull it up out of the bracket and toward the wheel well to the full length of the tubing to get a working space.
    Once you loosen the screw clamps rotate the tubes a little on the nibble with a pair of pliers because the tend to stick.
    The tube should pop out, without using the pliers.
  • Truck: 85 Toyota Pickup 4cylinder 2WD manual. Runs great, and still has original A/C.

Problem:
    Tinking noise near front of engine at mid RPMS. Quiet at stop and crusing speeds.