Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mercedes-Benz SL and SLK (all models)

Comments

• ezenezen Posts: 2
    I found a '76 450SL convertible selling for $3900. Ad states it only has 123k miles, but that seems awfully low to me. What should I look for when I take a test drive and check the car out? Are there any issues I need to be aware of? This would be a 2nd car for me, but I'm not a mechanic, so I don't want something that will need a ton of maintenance.
  • habitat1habitat1 Posts: 4,282
    "This would be a 2nd car for me, but I'm not a mechanic, so I don't want something that will need a ton of maintenance."

Need I state the obvious? You are considering buying a 31 year old German car. You think 4,000 miles a year seems "awfully low", suggesting you may intend to drive it frequently.

IT WILL REQUIRE A LOT OF MAINTENANCE. :surprise:

Not that I know anything about the 450SL, but one of my neighbors has had his 30+ year old Mercedes 280SE out of commission for over 4 months waiting for some parts. If you buy this car, do so with the anticipation that if things start going wrong, you may need to just hand the keys to your local charity.
  • s550iwishs550iwish Posts: 28
    I got in a car accident driving a 2007 Lexus RX350 loaded to the max. The guy that hit me was driving a 2007 MB SL550. My car was totaled and his car held up great i was surprised. The only damage on his car was a damaged hood and a broken tailight.That really is a great & safe car!! :)
  • Inside hood latch handle will not release my hood when pulled. Any ideas as to how to get the hood to release.
  • blov8rblov8r Posts: 567