Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Toyota Corolla Basic Maintenance Questions

Comments

• mandycmandyc Posts: 1
    Hi, i'm thinking about buying a 98 corolla LX from a dealor, i really like it, just that it has alot of miles on it (117,000)

It's my first time to buy a used car, please give me some advice on what i should pay attention to.

THANKS!
  • bhaskar1, I got exactly the same problem with my car. Mine is Corolla 2003 as well. But I forgot to ask dealder when I brought the car in for service today. :mad: My car had 23000 miles now, and I do the maintenance every 7500 miles.
  • I am going to rebuild the old chariot, however I stripped the motor while in the car and now want to separate the tranny from the block, and take out the block but the motor mount bolts will not come off. Is there a way to take out the studs from the mounts? the motor mount has a stud with nuts on both sides. Anyone out there know how to get the block out?
  • sunilbsunilb Posts: 407
    Answering my own questions here....

1- used the mityvac last weekend and it worked beautifully!
    2- found the filter... it's on real tight (though I can reach it from above), will need to work on getting that off this weekend.
    3- switched over to Mobil Syntec Blend 7500... oil changes will be on a less frequent basis now.
  • dhrdhr Posts: 4
    I have to engage my clutch sometimes 2 or 3 times before my car starts. Is my clutch going bad or does something need to be adjusted. It does not happen everytime. Anyone know?
  • mcdawggmcdawgg Posts: 1,668
    Your clutch is fine, but I need a little more info -

When you turn the key and it does not start, do you hear anything or is it just silent?